We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerpoint Park

Jerpoint Park
Kilkenny, Thomastown, Ireland
+353 86 606 1449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Thomastown
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Jerpoint Park, where we strive to immerse you in a unique experience of heritage and culture in a very special destination Thomastown in Kilkenny , south east of Ireland. Unearth the history of Jerpoint Park with a guided tour of the footprints of a deserted 12th century medieval town. When it was founded near a crossing point on the River Nore near the Cistercian Jerpoint Abbey. The site also contains the Tomb Effigy of St. Nicholas (Bishop of Myra) plus the Church of St. Nicholas. "One of Irelands's best examples of a deserted 12th century medieval town" a quote from The Heritage Council of Ireland.Savour the delicious homemade scones baked daily during the summer months in our Tea Rooms. Angling on the River Nore for wild salmon & wild brown trout from March - September (ghillie, rods & bait available for hire). Sheep dog demonstrations with geese or sheep is a wonderful event to see.Check website for details of opening hours and guided heritage tour times.Looking forward to welcoming you to Jerpoint.Joe & Maeve
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Dear Joe (and Maeve, even if unknown to us because unfortunately the tea rooms weren't open the day we came):

Perhaps you remember us four people from Germany who visited Jerpoint Park at July 28th - we knocked at your door in the afternoon and you didn't hesitate to take us around (with the other three women, who had arrived in the meanwhile).
You not only showed us this beautiful site, you let history become alive, when you explained and described how life could have been at the medivial town. We were and are still so much impressed about the deep history the place holds and especially the grave of St. Nicholas - that meant much to us and was a unique moment.
Thank you very much for having given us so much of your time and shown so many interesting, beautiful things!
On one side we hope, that many other people can share our experience, on the other side we fear the place to be overrun. But we know, that you are a careful owner of this extraordinary site.

Next time, we visit Ireland, we step in and say Hello (and try the famous scones)! Take care of you and that very special place!
Family Stern from Berlin

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerpoint P, Owner at Jerpoint Park, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much Stern family ...... I did not have the privilage of meeting you on July 28th, but look forward to meeting on your next visit. A million thanks for the lovely review of the Medieval Town and St. Nicholas's Tomb at Jerpoint Park. Maeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shannon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very interesting, the 'Lost Town' lies here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were there by accident and intended to be at Jerpoint Abbey. Despite this the owners were very informative and told us all about their conversation efforts in maintaining Jerpoint, the Lost town. We couldn't stay long but we enjoyed our stay.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerpoint P, Owner at Jerpoint Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review .... Jerpoint Park is a remarkable historic site. Maeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had tea and scones with fresh cream and jam....yum!
Then tour of ruins and farm. Very pleasant enterprising family who gives a good tour

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerpoint P, Owner at Jerpoint Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Delighted you had a wonderful visit. Many thanks for review. Maeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our family loved it!! And so did I!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently had a European family vacation. Wife and I plus 5 kids 15-24 yrs old. 4 countries in 12 days and this stop was as good as any we did. Extremely interesting and off the beaten path. I would encourage anyone to take the time and do it. Approx 2 hours and 2 of the best. Lots of walking in a beautiful pasture. Money well spent. 10 euro a person.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerpoint P, Owner at Jerpoint Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review. The aim of our Guided Heritage Tours is to explain in detail of the life and times of Medieval Ireland in Jerpoint Park ...... Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stopped at Jerpoint Park as part of our custom CIE tour. Joe and Maeve were gracious hosts who shared their home with us. The house is beautiful, the tea and scones delicious, but the best was yet to come! When Joe and Maeve bought Jerpoint as a working sheep, cattle and grain farm, little did they know that they had acquired a historical treasure. On their property is an entire village, complete with church, graveyard, and dwellings. Much archaeological investigation has taken place, and Jerpoint is now open for everyone to see this 12th century village. Joe is the tour guide, extremely well-informed about the village and people whose headstones are in the graveyard. When we had rambled about and had our fill of history, we joined Joe and his trusty sheepdog for an example of herding. Amazing! This is a great site and I am so grateful to Joe and Maeve for allowing us to visit their piece of Irish history! We will certainly be back on our next trip to Ireland and will allow more time to walk further into the village dwellings.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerpoint P, Owner at Jerpoint Park, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. Much appreciated and we look forward to your return visit. Maeve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerpoint Park also viewed

Thomastown, County Kilkenny
County Kilkenny, Province of Leinster
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Thomastown, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Jerpoint Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerpoint Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.