We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackberry Cafe

The Blackberry Cafe
Market Streeet | Koln, Thomastown, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Thomastown
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I stopped off here yesterday after a four hour drive .. We had a beautiful soup and sambo combo.. My soup was free range chicken & leek, utterly gorgeous. My sandwich was a ham and cheese salad and it had lovely herbs through it, it was so big I couldn't finish it and I had spied the lovely cakes on offer so kept room for a lush coffee cake (It'd be rude not to!) I'm in the restaurant business and believe me, it's difficult to get things as well executed as this, despite their apparent 'simplicity'
Bravo to the Blackberry Cafe and lucky old locals who get to frequent it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scones,served with home made jam and cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is always a busy place with locals mingling with toursits-great atmosphere and friendly service.The choice of scones and cakes is great and the coffee is worth ordering!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A lovely welcoming cafe in a charming town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had alight lunch with delicious artisan goats cheese home made bread and salads. Very reasonably priced and tasty. Helpful friendly staff

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Freshly baked home made breads and cakes. Charming cafe in the heart of town. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Sandwiches - Welcoming Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Everything is fresh, every day. Get in here for some tasty sandwiches, soups and even tastier desserts

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackberry Cafe also viewed

Thomastown, County Kilkenny
Thomastown, County Kilkenny
 
Thomastown, County Kilkenny
Thomastown, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Blackberry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackberry Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.