We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corthna Lodge is a beautiful, well-run guesthouse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corthna Lodge Country House

Corthna Lodge Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corthna Lodge Country House
Save
You added Corthna Lodge Country House to your Saves list
Air Hill Schull, Schull, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Schull B&B and Inns
Bronx, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Corthna Lodge is a beautiful, well-run guesthouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

In 2010, I stayed in the Corthna Lodge guesthouse for more than two weeks. I found the owners (Andrea and Martin) to be extremely pleasant, from our first emails to our last encounter on my day of departure. They went out of their way to make sure my stay was pleasant and constantly checked to make sure I was comfortable and had no problems. The house itself was spotless and the food was good. When you came back in the evening, there was always tea and a cookie available if you wanted a nibble. Near the end of my stay, their niece came to help them and you would be hard put to find a nicer young person than Stephanie.

My room was very nice and quiet and kept spotlessly clean.

Other guests of all ages came and went during my time there and they all felt welcome. Several stated that they would recommend Corthna Lodge to their friends without any hesitation.

Running a guesthouse is not an easy business but Andrea and Martin are extremely good at it. If you are in West Cork and looking for lodging, I recommend this guesthouse very highly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Very friendly welcome at this Guesthouse - a step up from a B&B. Very clean Bedroom & Bathroom. Fitness centre & Hot Tub also available. (We stayed only 1 night so didn't get to sample these). Didn't try the cooked breakfast on offer - too full from the night before at a local pub which was recommended for food by the Guesthouse !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich schweiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

stayed 3 nights in this B&B and we were very much impressed of this place! location and the service as well the the very nice rooms and resp. bathrooms are very charming!
breakfast was one of the best we ever had in a B&B and the couple running it were friendly, incredibly courteous and helpful. the garden of this guesthouse is fantastic and made with a lot of love and ideas. the view is fantastic and recommendable! we would definitely commend for everybody!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Probably one of the worst guesthouses I have ever stayed in. From the minute I walked in I felt uncomfortable. The male owner ws particularly cold , unwelcoming and unfriendly and arrogant. I felt like walking out and taking my business elsewhere.I felt almost under a compliment. The owners need to get real. We are living in a recession. They need to put in more of an effort . The boom times are over. I paid €75 for a bed in an average room and very poor service . What they dont tell you in the brochure is that everything advertised in the brochure is extra. You have to pay for a hot breakfast. You have to pay to use the sauna and hot tub. The so called gym is a bit of a joke.Even though I had planned to stay for the week I checked out the next morning on a point of principle and booked into a very nice hotel for the same price with a leisure centre which I did not have to pay extra for and breakfast was included in the price !! The pictures in the brochure look very nice and indeed the gardens are well maintained but that is all this place has to offer . The rooms are old fashioned . You could probably get over that but not the attitude of the owners towards their guests . They have very strange personalities indeed ( except the young girl employed there- she was pleasant) . The owners might be well advised to let her take over and stay out of the business

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Excellent guest house with excellent food in an excellent location close to a beautiful village in a beautiful corner of Ireland.

The owners try hard to make your stay a pleasant one, great facilities such as broadband, sun terrace, and hot tub (free to those staying two or more nights) added to the clean spacious accommodation make this a place we would plan to return to.

Only downside Bed and Breakfast means continental breakfast with cooked breakfast being extra.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cooked breakfast an extra
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

I booked our two week vacation all online for two families. Our trip was awesome all except at Corthna Lodge. We walked in with the children and the lady behind the counter made rude gestures like our children were nasty. We also brought our babysitter who stayed with the children while we went to the pub. When we arrived back at the lodge the babysitter had fallen asleep so we were knocking on the door and the man who owned the lodge came down the hall yelling at us telling us saying how ridiculous we were instead of just opening the door to let us in. Then after he finally lets us in and we were all in our rooms he yells "You have five minutes or I am calling the Cops"!!! WHAT!. People go to ireland to have fun and see the land and meet the people not to be talked to like an idiot. This was the worst place we stayed and will never go back. The pictures don't make up for their rude and childish behavior of the owners.

  • Liked — Felt bad for the student who had to work for them. She was the only one that was nice.
  • Disliked — I thought it was nice online but after meeting them it didn't matter I just wanted to leave.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corthna, Owner at Corthna Lodge Country House, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
We would like to let know our futur Guests about our version of this also for us not nice evening. First those guests arrived late without telling us and instead of the booked 3 double rooms for 6 people they were 12.
They explainded that they thought we had 2 double beds per room like in the US, which is not the case in Ireland or at least not in most Guesthouses. We tried to find them other accommodations but in High Season and especially in a small place like Schull it was impossible, as on top they declared only to go elswhere all together or not, that was of course impossible in August. So we started putting matresses on the floor for the children and offered the baby-sitter a room in our privat section. Instead of being gratefull for helping them out and going to there rooms the children turned on all the TV's let the doors open and the adults where discussing and phoning loudly in the corridor. Our other guests started to complain and treatning to leave on the next day if this did not stopp. The adults then left and went to a Pub at 2am they came back ringing the bell like crazy and knocking on the door. Until we were dressed all other guest were awake too. We then found out that the baby-sitter had looked in the other children and had taken all keys with her, that alone was very strange as she was not sleeping in the same. building, in our opinion she should have stayed with the children when the adults had all left and on top she had kept all keys ! Off course we were not pleased and when it got unpleasent between us, my husband said he would call the neighbour which is a guard and if they would not get quiet they should better leave immediately. This all happened during our busiest week with guest staying who had all booked for several days. We have our Guesthouse for 9 years now and this was the worst night we ever experienced with somebody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in this B&B and we were very impressed with the room, location and the service. The gardens are fantastic with incredible views and the whole house was spotless. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a B&B and the couple running it from switzerland were incredibly courteous and helpful. Would definetly recommend for couples or small families. Room 6 seems the best if available.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corthna Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corthna Lodge Country House

Address: Air Hill Schull, Schull, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Schull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Schull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corthna Lodge Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.