We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castlemartyr Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castlemartyr Resort to your Saves list
Castlemartyr Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights over Easter. Looking at the advertising we expected to stay in an old Georgian building but the rooms are in an unattractive modern extension a long walk from reception. The rooms were nice but extra soaps, shampoos etc had to be requested.
Breakfast not cooked to order (bacon rock hard) and dinner really overpriced with no real A La Carte option. The one saving grace was that the staff are really friendly. Wouldn't stay again, better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    171
    71
    42
    19
See reviews for
208
345
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a really great family break here over the Easter school holidays . staff are very friendly and the hotel is just superb !!!!! the most comfortable hotel bedrooms I've come across in a long time.
All of the above at a great price !!! what more do you need ?????

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed in Castlemartyr with friends and we availed of a special offer over Easter. We enjoyed a lovely dinner, bed and a fabulous breakfast in a spacious, comfortable bedroom. The facilities were very good especially the gym and water lounge which is fantastic. Food was good, freshly prepared and locally sourced. The only concern was the large number of children in the pool on the afternoon and morning which resulted in us not using the pool or sauna!! Pity!! if you stay here do try for one of their special offers and enjoy a walk in the grounds and a stroll to Pat Shortt's pub in the village before changing for dinner in Castlemartyr! One of us had a facial in the Spa and thought it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms not close to families with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had booked into the hotel for one night but due to the disappointment of our previous hotel stayed an extra night.

The main part of the hotel is in the original house and our room was situated in the new section. I must say that the finishes are exceptional with no expense spared. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. I can honestly say that it was absolute luxury and one of the best rooms I have stayed in. We ate in the bar on the first night and the food was very good. The second night we ate in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. The staff in both the restaurant and bar were very friendly and professional. The breakfast on both mornings was very good the buffet was for the cereal and fruits with the cooked breakfast served to the table as it should be in a hotel of this standard.

There are lots to see in the surrounding area with Ballymaloe only a few miles away. I would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is located in a wonderful natural area. It is surrounded by a golf course and forests. A beautiful river flows through the resort. The main building is a historic old mansion that was built on the ruins of a castle. The interiors are decorated with refined taste without being over the top. The rooms are large and provided with all comforts. The beds are super-king size, the curtains are controlled by a touch screen panel on the bedside locker and the bathroom is very comfortable too. Unfortunately there must be some problems with maintenance, because we have experienced some minor problems that the staff have promptly tried to solve. On the day of our arrival, at about 10 pm of Easter Sunday, we realized that we could get only lukewarm water from the taps, so the manager immediately moved us to another room. But because the hotel was full, we were updated to a suite with no extra cost and even a free drink at the bar to apologize. We were very thrilled to be in the beautiful huge suite facing the old wall lit by a nice green light in the dark. But we also found out that also the suite had a few flows: the shower didn't work properly (the rainforest shower was blocked but fortunately there was a little hand-held unit which was ok), the glass on the marble of the double basin was broken, and the temperature in the bedroom was just ok and could not be adjusted. But we loved being in the big suite. The breakfast buffet was simple but you can order a lot of other food à-la-carte at no extra cost. The quality of the food is good. We had a very tasty sandwich at the bar, where we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. We also had a bike ride for free around the premises. It is a shame that maintenance is so poor, but then, for a hotel that belongs to NAMA, it is not too bad and the staff are really doing their best. Everything is spotless and customers are very well welcomed. I hope they will be able to keep up with the actual high level of hospitality in spite of the obvious difficulties. We enjoyed our stay and we would like to go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here St Patricks weekend. Overall we had a lovely stay at the resort. When we arrived there was a wedding party also arriving and the bar was reserved for the wedding party which was annoying and disappointing as we were tired and hungry after a long drive and in need of refreshments and lunch. We were advised to go to the golf club, club house which was not what we were looking for at the time. Aside from this we had a wonderful stay at Castlemartyr resort. The food, service and room were all excellent and the ground were beautiful. Excellent service of vallet parking, bikes availible to cycle around the grounds and there was some fantastic enterainment in the bar.
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has a split personality. The standard of room is very impressive, the grounds and setting are as good as anywhere in Ireland, it boasts a pleasant atmosphere/ambience and has celebrity endorsers like ex-President Bill Clinton, no less.

BUT. There are problems. which thankfully in most cases can be resolved if the will is there by the hotel management.

Firstly the walk from reception to the actual bedrooms is extraordinarily long. It literally takes about 6 or 7 minutes to reach reception and back. This is no big deal, but does become something of a chore if you are staying there a few days.

But that is a small thing. A much bigger problem is the bar area. The time we stayed - mid-March and St Patrick's weekend- a wedding party had booked (reserved) the entire bar area and other guests were pretty much told, make alternative arrangements. Either go into another room (not a bar obviously) in the hotel or well, go down the local town, seemed to be the hotel's take on the matter.

I have no idea why the hotel thought it reasonable for non-wedding guests to be treated like this, but there you go. But the bar area itself is too small anyway, on the Sunday night we had to wait for an hour just to get a seat in order to purchase some food. I approached a member of the bar staff, whose lukewarm response was ``well if I see a seat I will certainly do my best for you''. Needless to say, only after complaining vociferously to another member of staff did we get a seat. Of course bar areas in Ireland are often full- its no big deal. but there was a reason we were desperate to eat in the bar in the first place.

And that is because of the quite astonishing prices in the restaurant nearby. The gourmet menu given to us (another menu was snatched out of our hand by the waiter) included a set price that would make even ex-President Clinton blush.

As a result of these prices, it seemed to us that virtually every guest was trying to get into the bar area to eat, as the prices were much lower and once you got seated (it can take a while) the food was perfectly fine.

The crowding into the bar was quite hillarious, but nobody in the local mangement seemed to do anything to resolve the issue, or help guests get seated. When I asked a female bar staffer was there any prospect of getting a seat, she prefered to aggressively ask me, to settle my bill and forget about the seating issue for the moment.

Two simple management actions would remove these issues- cut the prices in the restaurant and in some way widen or expand the bar area. And I mean the bar area. The hotel was using a succession of other ``rooms'' as overspills when the bar was full, but they are not bars. If guests just wanted to drink in an ordinary room etc, they could order room service and just stay there!

The food in the restaurant was average at best, there was certainly nothing there to justify prices that are well out of kilter with anything charged in either Ireland, or the UK or US, even in five star venues.

Even very modst hotels, with little ambitions to be the Savoy or the Ritz, usually have a decent bar. Most hotels of the three star variety usually have a nice restaurant. So not quite sure why the Castlemartyr insists on getting this part of its offering so wrong. Also please remember that you get all sorts of guests- not just wedding parties and don't exclude the rest of us when a wedding party are around- one would have thought this was basic hotel management.

Room Tip: Don't take one of the rooms miles from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand seventeenth century countrymanor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a yoga and pilates studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlemartyr Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.