We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garryvoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garryvoe Hotel to your Saves list
Garryvoe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballycotton Bay, Castlemartyr 000, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were married in the Garryvoe Hotel and it was an absolutely incredible day. The staff, accommodation, views, food and atmosphere were all superb. We had eaten in the restaurant before, so we knew their food was good, but they really pulled out all the stops. All of our guests were blown away by the hotels high standards and genuinely friendly demeanour. I highly recommend this hotel. Go see for yourselves!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    102
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
130
143
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the Garryvoe Hotel for three nights in February 2014 and had a most enjoyable time from check in to check out.Very efficient,friendly staff throughout our stay.Lovely,spacious room with a seaview and lots of complimentary toiletries in the bathroom.Free WiFi in our room and easy to log on.Leisure centre clean and lockers available and water in the pool at a very comfortable temperature for swimming,jacuzzi area in pool and hydro jets for massage and outdoor hot tub!Dining in the Lighthouse Bistro in the hotel,relaxed and cosy with a varied menu and good value.Great location with a sandy beach in front of the hotel perfect for long walks.We'll definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had booked a two night stay with dinner last monday and tuesday night in Garryvoe Hotel, we were extremely pleased with the service and the efficiency of the staff. Unfortunately our car broke down while there and we had to shorten our stay to one night, the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, they even offered to drop us into Cork City, a service that is rare to irish accommodation these days. We will most definitely return to this hotel and would only give it a five star recommendation.

Room Tip: Beautiful sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding in garryvoe hotel in sept 2013, nothing I write here will be able to express quite how fantastic this beautiful hotel and it's staff are. When we booked initially we spoke with Mr Belton, the manager, he immediately set our minds at ease, assuring us that once we got to garryvoe we no longer had to worry about the day running smoothly, and it really did. In the run up to the wedding we dealt with Andre and Ben, both were so helpful, kind and courteous! From the night we had the tasting to the wedding day and the day after we couldn't fault any member of staff, they truly are such an asset to an already amazing hotel! The food at the wedding meal was delicious, and in huge hearty portions! Everyone commented on how fabulous the food was! As was the evening food! After all the partying we got to retire to the beautiful wedding suite which really seen to be believed! Such nice touches too, they had some of our wedding cake and champagne waiting for us when we got back to our room! Right down to the checkout when it was all said and done they couldn't have been more helpful, again Andre and Laura at reception! Could not recommend this hotel more! If you're looking for an amazing wedding venue, this is it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked the Garryvoe Hotel for a one night stay. We travelled as part of a group, four adults and one child. The purpose of our visit was a relaxing break after Christmas. We booked a double room, breakfast and four course meal for €139. We thought this was very good value.

The hotel overlooks Ballycotton Bay with its beautiful views. You can also enjoy a stroll along the beach, to clear your head.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, that informed us of the hotels facilities. We were upgraded to a sea view room with a balcony. Our room was beautifully decorated and very spacious. The bed and pillows I found to be very comfortable.

Dinner at the Lighthouse restaurant was so lovely, everyone really enjoyed their meal, no one had any complaints. Following dinner we'd a few drinks in a bar at the back of the hotel, named The Cave. It was so cosy with a fire lighting which gave it a really warm touch. Breakfast was equally as good as dinner. Waiting staff were friendly and the selection of food was more than enough.

I didn't go to the leisure area, so I can't comment on this. However I'm told it was really good. It's a pity there isn't spa facilities available.

Garryvoe Hotel is a very clean, modern hotel with beautiful decor. Staff are friendly and helpful. A car is a must if you wish to visit this hotel. We truly enjoyed our stay and I would totally recommend this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing night away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: If possible a sea view room with balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed in this family friendly hotel twice. We enjoyed both says very much. We found the staff to be very attentive and friendly, the food for both breakfast and dinner in the bar excellent and the rooms large enough to cater for all 4 of us. We got a sea view room both times which is just fabulous. We are definitely looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here in late December as I was attending a friend's wedding. The property itself is well-situated on the coast of beautiful east Cork. In terms of positives, the hotel staff were most courteous and friendly and I felt well looked after during my stay. I enjoyed breakfast in bed, which was very tasty. However, the rooms, in my opinion, were more 3 star in decor and cleanliness.

The leisure centre was very good, although it took me a while to navigate my way through the maze of corridors and stairs to find it - the outdoor hot tub offered the perfect antidote to a hungover head.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to the Garryvoe if the price was right; the hotel is an idea wedding venue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garryvoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garryvoe Hotel

Address: Ballycotton Bay, Castlemartyr 000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garryvoe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garryvoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garryvoe Hotel Castlemartyr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garryvoe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.