We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no sightings :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Watch West Cork

Whale Watch West Cork
Baltimore Harbour, Baltimore, Ireland
+353 (0) 86 120 0027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Baltimore
Type: Tours
Activities: Whale watching
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whale Watch West Cork runs responsible whale and dolphin watching tours and holidays led by zoologist and conservationist Dr Nic Slocum. Mission: Whale Watch West Cork is dedicated to providing our customers with a safe, comfortable and educational whale and dolphin watching experience. We seek to impart detailed knowledge on the marine mammals and other wildlife we encounter and on the wider issues of marine conservation through informed commentary with special emphasis on the current threats facing these unique animals and their fragile environment. We directly support conservation measures through education and research. Company Overview: Whale and dolphin watching around the islands and headlands of West Cork with Nic Slocum of Whale Watch West Cork on board Voyager. Stopping at Cape Clear Island affords visitors an insight into the unique lifestyle of the islanders of Roaringwater Bay.
Essex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“no sightings :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent about 5 hours on board Nic's boat however we didn't manage to see any whales which was highly disappointing although this is not the fault of Nic. He did spot some fin's although i missed them so i am unable to say i saw any whales.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleWatchWestCork, Owner at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi Pebbles04_08

Thank you very much for your review. We greatly value feedback from our many customers. It is a shame that we did not have conclusive sightings during your trip. This is a shame because 2012 was a good year. Sightings vary of course from week to week and year to year as these animals are free to roam and are not constrained in any way, neither would we want them to be.

We do hope you will make it back to West Cork in the not too distant future and that we have the opportunity to take you out again.

Thank you again for your review.

Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    4
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have booked a tour last friday with Nic and it was an amazing trip! We saw many dolphins and the highlight was that we saw a huge fin whale!! In addition, we also saw seals and the landscape was breathtaking! It was all just a very exciting and great trip! I was also shocked by some comments! As it is mentioned on the webside and in the emails, these are WILD animals!! If you want to have a guarantee to see animals, than you should better go into a zoo!!
It's clearly advised BEFORE that there is NO guarantee to see any of these animals as they are WILD!! And about the loo?? What do you expect??!
If you are that fussy, you'd better book a trip on a luxus liner!! Anyways, you will never please everybody!!
Altogether we had a great day, Nic was a great host and even if we didn't see any animals we would have had a lots of fun!
Thanks Nic was the great day and adventure!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleWatchWestCork, Owner at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review Tanja S.

We were lucky to make it out given the poor sea conditions we had experienced during the previous few weeks. A little later we encountered humpbacks off Baltimore which was an enormous treat for everyone. These and the fin whales we saw with you are the largest whale species that come inshore off the Irish coast.

I do hope you are able to make it back to Ireland soon and that we are able to take you out again.

All the best

Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Whale watch with Nic Slocum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a fantastic trip. 02/11/2012. We were so lucky to get the chance to go out as the weather hadn't been great. We had only been out of the channel about 20 minutes when we were greeted by about 10 or more short beaked dolphins. These followed the boat along with others for most of the trip. Then after about 2 hour there she blowed, a Fin whale in the distance but close enough to she it break the water.. All in all a great trip with a great guy. Thanks Nic. John Fenn Colchester.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleWatchWestCork, Owner at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for your review JF.

We really appreciate all reviews submitted by our customers. We were lucky to get out that day due to the poor sea conditions we had experienced previously.

Later in the month we had a small group of humpback whales feeding in much the same place as we encountered our fins. This was a huge treat for us all as the humpback round here can be a little fickle year on year.

I hope you can make it out the West Cork again soon.

Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no whales but great fun :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

thanks Nic for a great time.. no whales but plenty of dolphins and puffins and nice fresh air :)))

would absolutely recommend

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleWatchWestCork, Owner at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi Joanna S.

Firstly. Thank you very much for your review. The time you and others take to make reviews is greatly appreciated as we can make adjustments and try to improve our customers experience as a result.

Secondly. I would like to clarify a point of general interest. The group of animals we refer to as whales (cetaceans is scientific term) are divided into two groups. Toothed whales (Odontoceti) and baleen whales (Mysticeti) . The number of whales that fall into the category baleen whales number just over 12 species which includes species like the minke and fin whale. The remaining 70 or so species belong to that group we call toothed whales (Odontoceti). In that group are included those we categorize as dolphins and porpoises. So species like the killer whale are in fact large members of the group we call dolphins. Making dolphins and porpoises all whales. Albeit small ones. The smallest whale in the world belongs to that group of whales we refer to as porpoises and is the Vaquita or Gulf of California porpoise.

We use the term whale to describe those from the very largest animal on earth, the blue whale down to the lesser known, and much, much smaller, Cuvier's beaked whale (the beaked whales are a unique group of toothed cetaceans, Odontocetes) and the killer whale...actually a large member of the group we loosely call dolphins.

There is only one very large toothed whale, that is the sperm whale.

Thanks again for your review and I hope we will see you in West Cork again in the not too distant future.

Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent - fun, informative and spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Really good afternoon spend at this, well worth the money and time. Go for it, it's worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch West Cork also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 
Baltimore, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 

Been to Whale Watch West Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Watch West Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whale Watch West Cork to your Saves list