We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baltimore Sea Safari

Baltimore Sea Safari
Church Strand, Baltimore, Ireland
+353 (0)87 240 9761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Baltimore
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do you want to ride the waves and explore the coastline? See wildlife including whales, dolphin and seals in their natural habitat? Then we have the boat trips for you! Baltimore Sea Safari provides thrilling, fun-packed sightseeing tours of the West Cork coastline. A full commentary is provided during each trip on the wildlife, sights and history of the area. New for 2010 - listen to the sound of the ocean with on board hydrophone.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Took a notion to take a trip with Micheal, as we were staying near Baltimore this week.

We decided to do so after checking the BSS website, and judging by the photos and informative blog we knew we would not be disappointed. €50 brought the two of us out to sea. At €25 pp I can highly recommend this to anyone considering a BSS excursion.

The excursions are listed as being 2 hours in duration, and I was hesitant that it would be a 30 min out to sea, an hour idling, and 30 min back type of trip.

This was not the case.

From the moment Micheal took off we were whisked out in double quick time.

We stopped for a moment at a lone island seal colony. A full run down of the types of seals and bird life led me to believe Micheal really knew his stuff and it set the scene for the rest of the trip.

It is evident that Micheal takes his job seriously, as he has 100% passion for his work. This in
itself was the highlight of the tour. There was a 10 15 minute talk at most of the points where we stopped. We learned about the Islands, the seal colonies, the wildlife. We were introduced to the historical background of the islands, and picked up some quite fascinating information. We were on our way to see whales, and were expecting to see minke whales.

After a stop at a mussel harvester, and a drift through the mussel farms, we headed way out to sea. The fastnet lighthouse was a mere miniature in the distance, but from the detailed description we were given, we felt like we were right there.

We followed a flock of manx shearwater and gannets who led us to a mother and calf minke. The sheer size of these creatures was astounding. They breached, lunged and took breaths right in front of our noses. We kept our distance, but turned 3 or 4 times to keep up.

We were well into the 2 hours, yet Micheal waited until we had seen as much as we could possibly see.

I can give 100% credit to Micheal, I thoroughly enjoyed his talks, his clear optimism, his time and effort. It made the journey, the whales were a bonus.

Points to note:

BSS provide you with windcheaters and waterproof jackets. (there are leggings also available)

They also provide you with life jackets.

Micheal gave us a detailed talk about the craft, the safety procedures, and pretty much put us at ease from the moment we stepped aboard.

Do:

Bring sunglasses and do apply sun cream. Even though it may be cloudy the sea reflects the rays, and like me you might end up with a little sunburn.

You might like to bring binoculars, as you will have plenty of time to observe the islands, the porpoises, the whales and the seals.

I give this trip top marks. I will definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaltimoreSeaSafari, Owner at Baltimore Sea Safari, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Michael thank you for taking the time to review our boat trip, and writing an amazing account of your experience. When I read your review I was delighted to see that I seem to have delivered what I always set out to do, and that is to share a unique experience with my passengers and to put across my love and enthusiam for the varied wildlife and the sights and scenery that we encounter during our trips. Glad you enjoyed the experience, and hopefully we will have you aboard again in the near future. Mícheál.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun for all the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved this trip. We were staying on Heir Island....what a little gem! To get away for a bit & see more of the coastline we booked a 2hr trip with Micheal. He's an absolute dote & full of fun & interesting info. The kids loved the thrill of being out on a speed boat & seeing the seals etc. We even caught a glimpse of a dolphin. Also saw a sun fish which I had never even heard of! Well worth a go while in west cork :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaltimoreSeaSafari, Owner at Baltimore Sea Safari, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our boat trip, Its great that you enjoyed your trip with us even though the weather conditions on that day were not the best, with a sloppy swells and a fresh breeze. It seems that you all found a particular aspect of the trip that appealed to you, and that is our aim during our trips, to find something taht appeals to everyone on a trip.
Mícheál
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and well worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our boat ride with Baltimore Sea Safari and were delighted they provided rain jackets as we didn't come prepared! Micheal was so knowledgeable about the area and wildlife, it was educational as well as enjoyable. We didn't see any whales but lots of seals and islands... all round, a very enjoyable 2 hours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaltimoreSeaSafari, Owner at Baltimore Sea Safari, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our boat trip. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip with us, we are always looking at improving our boat trips. Reviews help us gain an insight into how people view our trips, and also what aspects of the trip that appeal most to them. We use this info to sharpen our trips, so that we can generate an experience that appeals to all. Hopefully we will see you on one of our trips again in the future.
Many thanks Mícheál
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Experience with a Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This May i spent an afternoon on the water with 2 companions we saw dolphins and seals. We were taken on a tour around some of the islands of Roaring Water Bay and saw seals lazing on rocks. Michael our guide was very informative and spent lots of time explaining the history and different aspects of the sea life in the area.
It was a beautiful sunny day and the trip took about 3 hours, great value at €25. Make sure you put on the waterproofs as there can be a lot of water splashed into the boat as it goes out to the far side of Cape Clear.
I would recommend it for adults and older children.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaltimoreSeaSafari, Owner at Baltimore Sea Safari, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Boat trip. We are glad that you enjoyed our boat trip so much. We put great effort into trying to make sure that we get a balance between the nature, the history and the sightseeing during our trips, so that there is something that appeals to each and everyone of the passengers on board the boat. Its an amazing privilage to be able to share our beautiful coastline with all who travel with us, and kind messages like yours make it worthwhile. Thank you and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Hi,we booked an evening trip for five,we didn't see and dolphins if whales but they had been around earlier in the day as photos on fb showed,we saw two types of seals lots of birds and Michael was so knowledgeable about the whole area. He stopped regularly and told us stories about the various islands and goings in from the past. Even my teenager was interested,we were out for over an hour and it was only €15 each,great value,great scenery great guide and a great experience

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaltimoreSeaSafari, Owner at Baltimore Sea Safari, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I have a passion for the wildlife, the history and the many beautiful sights that we see during our boat trips, and it is great to read such a lovely review of the boat trip. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and hopefully you will return to us one day and get to see whales and dolphins. Mícheál
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltimore Sea Safari also viewed

Baltimore, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Baltimore, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 

Been to Baltimore Sea Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltimore Sea Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.