We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable lodging in great location with excellent friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O' Driscoll's Corner House

O' Driscoll's Corner House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O' Driscoll's Corner House
Save
You added O' Driscoll's Corner House to your Saves list
| The Square, Baltimore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable lodging in great location with excellent friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Corner House while on a cycling vacation. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. Our room did not have a view but was comfortable and clean. There is a small sitting room where you can find coffee, tea, and cookies during the day. The breakfast was very nice and the salmon was delicious. Everything is within walking distance. The only negative was the street noise. It was very warm when we visited so we had to keep the windows open and you could hear people on the Square. Another nice feature was the ability to order breakfast at a specific time in the morning.

Room Tip: If you want to leave windows open see if there is a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For nearly one week Baltimore was supposed to become our "base" in order to explore some of Ireland's south-westerly beauty-spots (having seen Kerry, Conemara etc.in previous years). Looking for accommodation after our arrival on a Wednesday afternoon we found a few possibilities, however, having looked through the window of "O'Driscoll's Corner House" we were very impressed by that first appearance, i.e.nicely layed breakfast-tables and an inviting reception-area, all wood-panelled. After we had spoken to the friendliy landlady Bernadette and seen some of the rooms, we decided straight away "This is it..." (although the lady kindly told us to go away and think about it in peace), Anyway, during the following 6 days we had ABSOLUTELY NO REASON FOR COMPLAINT!! Beds were good, nicely tiled and well illuminated bathroom (with soap+shower/shampoo!), lovely, new-looking pine-furniture with plenty of space for all our stuff. And: None of that musty smell, you get in some places...! Behind the reception there is a comfortable lounge with facilities for making tea/coffee and plenty to read/informations about the area. Breakfast was superb, we could choose from a menu every night plus "extra-wishes" (i.e. fresh veg./salad) were no problem. Bernadette is obviously quite flexible, you only need to ASK. The problem, some people seem to have, is probably COMMUNICATION (= the "magic word"...)
The price was about the same as in other places we have seen, but the QUALITY an awful lot BETTER than the others.
Of course, the view from both our windows was brilliant, overlooking the harbour and the castle. Regarding the location I can only refer to most of the previous reviews: IDEAL!
All in all we had a wonderful time, not least due to the friendly atmosphere in our Guesthouse and the good "touristic tips" our hostess gave us. THANK YOU, Bernadette! Oh, and I loved your smart white Chef's outfit you were wearing whilst serving breakfast :-) :-) !

Room Tip: We liked room no. 5 (with two beds and two windows...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and found the B and B to be a good clean place to stay, it has all the necessary and provides a decent breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Corner House was recommended by friends who stayed there at Easter and we spent a very pleasant couple of nights there. What a great guesthouse – sea views overlooking the harbour and right in the centre of the lovely village. The en-suite double room was very bright and elegant with clean, crisp, white bed linen and wooden floors. There was a good range of freshly prepared food each morning – we both had the full Irish the first morning but I tried the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs the second morning which were also delicious. Good to see smoothies on the menu, which is unusual for a guesthouse. Bernadette, the owner, was very helpful and recommended lovely places to eat and drink and we were glad we took her suggestion to walk up to the Beacon with its breathtaking views. Will definitely be back to this guesthouse, hopefully this summer, and would recommend it for anyone wanting a central location, great views and close to all amenities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Room was basic but clean. The service friendly. The breakfast tasty. But the outstanding quality is it's location - there is only one place you want to be in Baltimore and that is the square beside O'Driscolls.It is the hub of the village.
Generally good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was a rip off. Beds very uncomfortable, shower was cold and only a trickle. Breakfast was made from cheap ingredients. This place could do with having a few bob spent on it. You could get a good three star hotel for the same money. We felt it was a total rip off and the prices were probably jacked up just because it was the bank holiday week end.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette O, Owner at O' Driscoll's Corner House, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was very sorry to read that you felt your stay with us was a "rip Off". My guesthouse is registered with Failte Ireland and therefore inspected each year. Unless the standards are met i would not be awarded a star rating. It is also necessary as a member of Failte Ireland that i submit a scale of maximum charges. These charges are posted in each room for my guests to see and therefore there would be no way that i could increase my rates. I would like to reassure you that they are never "jacked up" . i have taken on board your comment about the beds and felt that while all my double beds which are King Koil spinal support were perfect, that a few of my single beds needed replacing and i have done so thank you for that advice. I use top quality Irish produce with local eggs and smoked salmon, milk etc so do not understand what you mean by "cheap" The problem with the shower could perhaps have been sorted if i had been told about it on the day. I don't usually have any problem with supply and did not hear anything from any other guest but i do apologise if you found it so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed here in August and again in October as we loved it so much the first time. On both occasions we had a very good experience and great holiday. Bernie, the owner, is a lovely Irish lady who couldn't have been more helpful or friendly in the true Irish spirit. The location is brilliant overlooking the beautiful harbour and bay and right in the middle of the village, next door to all the bars, cafes and restaurants. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O' Driscoll's Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O' Driscoll's Corner House

Address: | The Square, Baltimore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Driscolls Corner House is spacious with six ensuite bedrooms all with TV, most with excellent views of the sea. Tea & coffee facilites are on hand, iron and ironing board together with hair-dryer are available at reception. Guests can avail of free Wi Fi. All guest rooms feature good quality furniture and select bathroom products, ensuring your stay is as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is served in the large dining room with a panoramic view of Baltimore village, the Beacon and beyond to Sherkin island. Guests can choose from the wide and varied home cooked breakfast menu but all diets are catered for with advanced notice. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O' Driscoll's Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.