We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional, breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louth Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional, breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

All too often when you book your accommodation via the internet when you arrive the reality bears no resembelence to the description provided by the hotel owner. This is definitely not the case with Bella Vista. The description "Victorian-style house...sensitively renovated to provide the perfect combination of modern comfort with traditional style & hospitality" is completely accurate if a little understated!
The rooms were delightful, the staff and management were extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble - it was all about ensuring your stay was as enjoyable as possible.
The hotel location was ideal - breathtaking views over Cobh Harbour, accessible to the local town centre and its magnificent Cathedral. Cobh itself is a perfecr base to explore other parts of the county - just ask the Bella Vista staff if in any doubt about the main attractions.
Overall Excellent - accommodation, staff and managment, food and as always location, location, location.
Well done Bella Vista excellent value for money!

  • Liked — its the overall package
  • Disliked — I had to go home
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    86
    22
    9
    13
See reviews for
107
124
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I was a little tempted to keep quiet about this lovely hotel as I intend to stay here again and I dont want it to be booked out...but that would be very selfish of me and very unfair not to give credit where it is due. This hotel offered the warmest welcome I have ever experienced, with wonderful smiling friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant and enjoyable.
I stayed here for 3 nights with a large family group, in one of the fantastic self catering suites. There were 2 bedrooms, both with huge en suite bathrooms, a main bathroom, kitchen/living area, balcony and furnished terrace. The beds were huge and really comfortable, there was always plenty of hot water, and the kitchen had all the cutlery and utensils we needed to look after ourselves. Inside the hotel was a small bar and a Chinese restaurant, a small reception and even a pc for free 24 hour guest internet access.
The hotel is quite an old building but not at all fading or shabby, as it has been very well looked after and kept spotlessly clean throughout. The self catering apartments are seperate from the main hotel building and are brand new with a lovely airy spacious feel. At least one of the suites was all ground floor with no steps at all, which may be of help to anyone with walking difficulties. Most of the rooms and suites have beautiful views of the harbour, but are just far enough from the sea front to escape any traffic noise.
The location of this hotel is ideal. The train station is less than 10 minutes walk downhill, the famous cathedral is 10 minutes walk in the other direction, and the town centre itsself is just 5 minutes away, though admittedly down a very steep hill - if you prefer a more relaxing stroll you can take a gentler route that still only takes about 10 minutes. There is car parking available in the hotel car park, and plenty of spaces all along the road too if needed. The Bella Vista is so central that you can park the car at the beginning of your trip and not use it again until you are leaving.
While we were staying here we met the owner of the hotel, Kevin Murphy, a very friendly and likeable man who clearly takes pride in his hotel's customer services, and rightly so. Nothing is too much trouble - from making sure our accommodation suited our needs to organising fishing trips for some of the other guests. The effort made by him and his staff to make sure every one of their guests had a great holiday was really appreciated; I will not only return here myself but will also be recommending this place to anyone who wants to treat themselves to a really special break.

  • Liked — wonderful staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We checked in here following a glowing report from the Tourist Information Office in Cobn. We had to pay in cash up front in order to get a room. (We now know why they insist on this, see below).

The room was OK, but we were located directly over the "Chinese" restaurant, and were woken every 10 -15 minutes through the night by the restaurant kitchen ventilation. This started with a groan and rose in pitch to sound like a siren, before abruptly stopping.

Also we had to put up with a light directly outside our window used to light access to the self catering units.

The "Chinese" restaurant is not genuine!, no chop sticks, no Oolong or any other Chinese tea, only wine! Who wants wine with spicy noodles? Beer was only available from the bar, (no Chinese beer). The meat in our dishes was pre-cooked, stale, and not heated through. We only ate there as it was the only restaurant option on a Sunday evening in Cobn.

The breakfast was probably OK, but the "hot" Irish breakfast was served on very cold plates, making the meal inedible.

The owner, Kevin, was not at all interested in our complaints, afterall he had our money and just wanted us to go!

When we came to leave we were blocked in the car park and had to wait until the obstructing vehicle left.

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — noise!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

We loved the Bella Vista. We were given a very warm welcome by the owner, and shown to a very pleasant room, although without the view, however we were able to enjoy the view at breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was very good, including home-made scones. We were intrigued to find that the hotel included a Chinese restaurant. Unfortunately, we did not feel like a Chinese meal that particular evening, so we did not get to try the restaurant, however while sitting in the bar we heard some very complimentary comments about it. The bar was lovely, quite small, but very atmospheric, with interesting artefacts and pictures. The only possible downside for some might be the location at the top of town, necessitating an uphill hike back from the centre.

  • Liked — Bar
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

I booked a twin room for three days and stayed with a relative as there was a special offer on. I had stayed there a year previously, and had a great time: lovely views, good service and a lovely French restaurant. We could have done with more blankets, but that was alright. This time was very different.

When we booked in, we were told we had to pay the whole cost in advance "because some people ran off without paying". We were gobsmacked, but didn't know how to refuse, as we were tired, and had nowhere else to go. We were thus left penniless and forced to run around town looking for a cash machine so we could get something to eat.

As soon as we tried to use it, the bathroom door jammed and we couldn't get in. We waited almost an hour for someone to fix it, but were allowed to use the bathroom in an empty room. The person who came to fix the handle was rude to my relative, insinuating that the problem was our fault. At this point, we just wanted to leave. Next morning I went to the manager, said we were leaving and demanded our money back for the remaining two days. The manager refused, denied the behaviour of the repair man and told us we were getting a good deal. We were upgraded to a nicer room, however.

The advertising literature mentioned the opening of a new Chinese restaurant. What it didn't say was that if you didn't like Chinese food, you had to eat elsewhere for any meals apart from breakfast. I went there for some soup once, but was told I couldn't sit in the restaurant to eat the soup because I hadn't spent enough.

Finally, we were told on the evening before we left that the electricity in Cobh was to be cut on the following morning for a few hours, but that breakfast would still be available. When we went down for breakfast, however, I was told I couldn't have scrambled egg - no idea why. As I have swallowing problems I could only eat certain things, and apart from some cereal was left with no breakfast. We had wanted to have a last look around Cobh, but left for Cork city immediately so I could get something to eat.

The odd thing was that the hotel was very far from busy when we were there, so evidently customer service was just not that high a priority. I will be staying in Cobh in the future, but obviously not there.

  • Liked — Nothing, really.
  • Disliked — Lack of food, bad customer service.
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

Bella Vista gives just what the name suggests - a beautiful view!
We had such a lovely relaxing time amid friendly staff, a well stocked bar and wonderful open fires. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. The breakfast was hearty and certainly set us up for the day in this quaint town and surrounding area. We got a tour of the self catering options and have booked one for the summer - can't wait for that! A lovely place.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

We were originally booked to stay at Harleys Guest House, but when we arrived the place was dark. When we knocked on the door, some random guy came over from down the street and told us we had been rebooked at the Bella Vista. He said that we were sent a "fax" informing us of the change. This was obviously a lie as I never gave a fax number when I made the reservation. When we went to the Bella Vista we were very dismayed to see the location up the hill (Harley's is right down in the center of town) and the Chinese Restaurant in front. When we went to check-in and ask what happened with our reservation we were told about 5 different excuses of why were couldn't stay at Harley's Guest House. Essentially they are all owned by the same person and it was a bait and switch. It being so late, we just decided to stay. They put us in a room right next to the Chinese Restaurant so we got to smell that for the better part of the night. To top it off the shocking color of red that was painted on the walls definitely did not make for a relaxing environment and certainly did not encourage sleep!
I would NEVER go back and I NOT recommend anyone staying at either place as they are liars and you do not get what you paid for.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Location, Chinese Restaurant, Management, Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not book!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.