We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Few Days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Hotel to your Saves list
Commodore Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Great Few Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had our Wedding back in July at the Commodore Hotel, in our home town, and in the hotel where we more or less grew up. I personally wanted to go there for our wedding, as our families and I, have always wined and dined there, as well as myself, my brother, my wifes father, mother and two sisters, have worked there down through the years. We have all had family events there and have always been well looked after by the O'Shea family and their staff down through the years, so we felt we wanted to give something back.

From initially booking with Robert Fitzpatrick, everything was so comfortable in the build up to the big day. Robert and his crew looked after us brilliantly throughout. I would like to thank them all again, the whole team at the Commodore. The food was superb and all commented on how beautiful it was. The roof garden set up on the day of the wedding and the day after was just the icing on the cake (not the weeding cake). The weather at nearly 30 degrees celcius made the whole weekend even more enjoyable. If I knew it was going to be that hot, I would have worn shorts.

If you are reading this review and you are considering the Commodore for a Wedding, you don't need to think too hard. If you are from Cobh, keep the business close to home, you will be looked after better than any where.

To summarise, we are sorry we have taken so long to write this review, but thank s to the Commodore owners, management and staff for the way in which they looked after us on our Wedding day and still to this day.

Regards
John & Tanya

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    97
    50
    23
    17
See reviews for
81
96
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier this year but just found time to write this review.
This must have been a really grand Hotel in the Titanic years but is sadly now old fashioned and in need of a good renovation, the bedroom was dated but very clean. It's located in a great position overlooking the harbour and a has a great bar and bar food. The Irish staff as in every hotel we stayed in Ireland were very helpful and friendly. The bar is good and had free live entertainment, the night we stayed there was a group on singing sea shanties.
The breakfast was good but we felt the room price was too high for the facilities offered.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel with a great view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Last weekend we had a lovely stay in the Commodore Hotel in Cobh. On arrival and throughout our stay staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had a room with beautiful sea view. Excellent choice for breakfast. As well as the usual options there was the lovely addition of fish, Eggs Benedict, Continental Plate and brown bread muffins. Dinner was very good too. For what we got it was very reasonably priced with great discounts for children.
Hotel is very convenient, only a few minutes walk from train station. With this easy access we enjoyed trips to Fota and Cork.
We would be very happy to visit again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at The Commodore with my groups on several occasions and the staff have always been very helpful. The food has always been of a good standard and the location and spaces in the hotel make it comfortable for our activities. Cobh is a lovely little town with lots to do and see.
I hope to go back to Cobh again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just got back from 4 days at the Commodore. Lovely hotel, full of character. The staff were great - really friendly and made us (Brits) feel very welcome.

There are some aspects of the hotel which are a bit shabby, but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment. We had a sea view room on the third floor which was amazing - the most fabulous views each day. Sun from morning to evening.....magical.

Breakfast - excellent !

Our only moan would be that although there is double glazing, it is obviously very old and does not work anymore - we were woken up a number of times during the night.....get this sorted and the hotel would have got a 5* from us.

Room Tip: If you go for a Sea view room, then you get fab views, but you also get noise from the street....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My dad asked me to post his review for the hotel :-)

The Commodore Hotel, to me and my wife, is what we would call home away from home. It is a splendid hotel in the middle of the town, near the shops and only over the road from the promenade, a place where one can sit and watch the boats and ships coming and going all day. There is also a view of the islands, Spike and Haulbowline. There are ferry boats to take the visitors on tour around the harbour, the latter being one of the three largest natural harbours in the world.
The Commodore is also only a few hundred yards away from the railway station and the trains run every hour to Cork City. The hotel is located beside the Heritage Centre, which remembers the Irish who emigrated from Cobh, the single most important port of emigration, and attracts many visitors every year and furthermore the Commodore is a very short walk away from the magnificent St Coleman’s Cathedral.
The staff in the hotel are really fantastic. They are helpful and kind and can’t do enough for you. And the food is really good. There is live music a number of evenings a week in the hotel, which attracts a good crowd and the atmosphere is great. The rooms are very comfortable and we always choose one with a sea view, which is really wonderful.
All in all a sojourn in this hotel is not to be missed. You return home refreshed and counting the weeks until the next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Did not have occassion to stay in the Commodore Hotel as I am from the area, but down through the years the Commodore Hotel has always been a host to various diffenent festivals, such as the Cobh International Folk Dance festivals, Corks 2005 European Capital of Culture and many more such evens and I will say that there was alway an excellent reception provided by the Commodores owner and staff, the Commodore Hotel has recently modernized, just to day there was a group of four English visitors leaving, on asking then were they leaving and they said sadly, yes , but if I could pay for an extended stay in the Commodore they would love to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.