We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WatersEdge Hotel Cobh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added WatersEdge Hotel Cobh to your Saves list
WatersEdge Hotel Cobh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yacht Club Quay | Lower Road, Cobh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Celbridge, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Short break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last week myself and my wife Mary spent two nights in The Watersedge Hotel in Cobh Co Cork. To say we enjoyed the experience is putting it very mildly. Sometimes words do not adequately describe an experience! This is a beautiful small hotel two minutes to the rail station with magnificent views of the harbour. I cannot praise the hotel staff enough for their contribution to the success of our visit. From the lovely Aga at the front desk ( she is originally from Poland ) to the girls Kira, Sylwia, and Hazel who attended to our every wish at breakfast and during our dinner on one evening. We could not have had nicer people looking after us. Thanks also to David the manager for his courtesy and helpfulness. If you ever get a chance to visit Cobh I would strongly recommend this hotel for a very comfortable stay. Thanks a million to all involved and we hope to visit you again in the future.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Everyone is very please with your kind comments.
If you visit Cork again we would be very happy if you stayed with us again

Kindest Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    109
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
196
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having stayed at Watersedge 5 years ago we were keen to return as we had loved the place then.Sometimes this can be a mistake to try a recreate an experience. However this was not the case, as the Watersedge was just as delightful second time around. This hotel is beautifully decorated, has all the charm of a boutique hotel, is spotless and well appointed and has great views of the passing ships. We chose to eat at the in house restaurant as the evening became very bleak. There we had an excellent dinner and was served by the delightful Hazel whose beautiful irish accent and personality won us over immediately. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write you review of The Watersedge Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us once again. The views of the harbour are indeed fantastic, so thank you for your kind feedback.

I hope you think of us once more should you wish to visit Cobh in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me on 021-4815566.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was an excellent surprise with nice rooms, view of the harbour, newly renovated bathrooms, good food in the restaurant, and next to the Heritage Centre/train station as well as the main road and shops. We had a good supper at the hotel's restaurant from the prior week and made a good decision to stay the last evening before departing from Cork airport.

After a week mostly in B&Bs with showers, it was nice to enjoy a long hot bath in a nicely adorned bathroom and then sleep in a large room with views of the harbour and fishing trolleys at the dock. The furnishings were a mixture of new and old that created a comfortable ambiance.

The only frustration in room #10 at the end of the hotel and had (free) Internet issues, but upon sitting just outside the door, we got email! I suspect that other rooms should have no problem.

The Jacob's Ladder Restaurant in the hotel has good hours compared to other higher rated restaurants in Cobh. The free breakfast was well presented with cereals and hot meal prepared from the kitchen...the omelette was excellent, but hot toast for Canadians would be nice! The suppers were well-proportioned and presented and our black-haired hostess remembered our full order with exception of one side dish...awesome lady!

There is free overnight parking at the hotel front but ask for the hotel's free parking area to avoid parking fines while you rest comfortably at the WatersEdge! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid room 10 if you want good Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review The Watersedge Hotel

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us

Our free internet service has now been upgraded and is much quicker
We would like to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future

Kindest Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Am second generation Irish, a US travel agent, and am living in Dublin for 18 months..had to see the port and city from which my grandparents emmigrated to America back in the 40's. Town was typical port with lots of dock space and an historical center, but the Watersedge Hotel is what sticks in my mind! We booked last min thru booking.com, got a triple, (always hard to get in Europe at a good rate), had lovely attnention at check in by Aga, an gorgeous room, nbr 18.with harbor view. Modern bath, 2 twins and a double..comfy!! Free Wifi! Small lovely cozy lobby, I wanted to read and cozy up with a glass of wine and obliging staff lit fire, brought wine and looked after us after a delicious dinner in Jacobs Ladder, in hotel restaurant. Service was amazing all around, it was the off season, staff was amazing, Aga, Ciara, et all..thank you..hope to recommend hotel and visit again before leaving Ireland

Room Tip: Room 18 was literally directly on the water, in off season was quiet and could not hear freighters o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, Restaurant Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Kathleen,

I am so pleased with your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

It is great to see that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your stay and most importantly our staff made a very good impression on you. Myself and Kira were delighted after reading your review.

I really hope you will stay with us once more before you and your family go back to US and if I can be of any assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me on 021-4815566.

Best Regards
Aga Ruttle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bray
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just back from 2 very relaxing nights in this small family run hotel. I would recommend the Suite if available and do contact the Hotel direct to negotiate the best deal. Jacobs Ladder is the restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served. The staff are very friendly and with only 20 rooms you do feel very welcome. Most rooms have sea views and the hotel is in a very quiet location on the promenade near the Train Station and Heritage Centre. Breakfast is very good and can be ordered to your room at no extra charge. Reception area is cosy with plenty of relaxing sofas to unwind in. The Suite is huge with it's own private balcony, sitting room with fire, 2TVs, giant bed, whirlpool/bath, large shower and with West & South aspect. Free offstreet underground carpark is a bonus! Highly recommend, especially if you just want to unwind and recharge. Cobh now has competitive hotels and restaurants to suit everyone's tastes and pockets, and the WatersEdge Hotel is setting the standard.

Room Tip: Room 1 if available, small price for great luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, General Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review of the WatersEdge Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
I have passed your great comments to the staff and they are delighted with them.

We hope you might come back to us in the near future and if I can be of any assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me on 021-4815566.

Kind Regards
David Ruttle
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hi There,

My husband and I stayed in the WatersEdge Hotel, Cobh recently.

We got a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the harbour. It was wonderful.

We booked through Booking.com and got this room plus a fantastic breakfast for €60 in total. This was great value for the luxurious room and splendid breakfast. Good service too. I couldn't fault it. Well done to all at WatersEdge Hotel.

Rebelcitygirl

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 2. This was great as it is just near reception. Very convenient and handy for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, General Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that if you do return to Cobh on either business or pleasure you might think of us once more.

If I can be of any assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me on 021-4815566.

Kind Regards
David Ruttle
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Extremely helpful and friendly staff,cooked breakfast to order straight from the kitchen where special requests were absolutely no problem.gorgeous large clean extremely comfortable beds and bathroom was similar,I have been away for many weekend breaks around the country but can honestly say this is the first time I have come home planning to go back to the WatersEdge as soon as possible,if you love the sea then there is no better than their sea view rooms,sunrise over the sea lying in a warm comfy bed!! Will stop now before I spoil all the other little surprises you will find in and around this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for sea view! Fantastic views of surrounding harbour and the sound of the sea outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watersedgeMGT, General Manager at WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your great review of the WatersEdge Hotel.
I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and our staff made a positive impression on you.
It is fantastic to see that you are planning on coming back to us soon and we are truly looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel.

Kind Regards
David Ruttle
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WatersEdge Hotel Cobh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WatersEdge Hotel Cobh

Address: Yacht Club Quay | Lower Road, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WatersEdge Hotel Cobh 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WatersEdge Hotel is a special venue in every sense of the word. Nestled in the harbour town of Cobh near Cork, and situated on the waterfront, we really have got “rooms with a view”.The Hotel commands breath-taking views, spacious, comfortable accommodation and Bistro style food that cannot be beaten. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure, this is the Hotel to come to time after time.As a guest you will find you are the only focus of our staff and we look forward to welcoming you to Cobh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WatersEdge Hotel Cobh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WatersEdge Hotel Cobh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.