We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting...worth a visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobh Heritage Centre

Cobh Heritage Centre
Lower Road, Cobh, Ireland
353 (21) 4 813591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Cobh
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Very interesting...worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've been here a couple of times and really enjoyed our visit. There were some fascinating exhibits, and a wealth of information. Really worthwhile.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    116
    23
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place, awesome scones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm in Cobh a lot photographing ships and I always go into the Heritage Centre for a scone with jam and cream. There is an exhibition that tells the story of the Irish emigration, Lusitania and, predictably, the Titanic (Admission fee applies). There's also a gift shop that sells the usual tacky Irish souvenirs, so there's something to purchase if you're that way inclined.

The icing on the cake, as it were, is the café. The scones are amazing, and with jam and cream and a pot of tea, you'll be in food heaven!

If you're in Cobh, this is a must visit place, you cannot afford to miss it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Informative and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've been regular visitors to Cobh for the last eight years but this is the first time we have visited the Heritage Centre..though we have eaten many times in the adjoining cafe (fantastic cakes!) We visited on a rainy day thinking it might occupy us for an hour but we were in for almost two and a half hours and loved every minute. Told the story of Irish emigration, both voluntary and forced, plus the Titanic story and the tragedy of the Lusitania in great detail. We will definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I am afraid i didnt have enough time to go around this as much as i would have liked as my little man was giving out and cranky ;), It is very well presented, great for everyone who has an interest in Irish history as this center has a lot on Irish famine, immigration as well as the Titanic, I myself love museums and any type of history so i was in my element. Well worth a visit while in cobh.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting but staff were not at all friendly !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting info on Cobh and Irish history . Pity about uninterested staff member at ticket desk . Also very very cold . No heating on of any kind . When you compare it to the Titanic experience it's just not value for money . A pity really !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobh Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Cobh Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobh Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.