We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Cobh B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardeen B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardeen B&B
Save
You added Ardeen B&B to your Saves list
3 Harbour Hill | Adjacent to St. Colman's Cathedral, Cobh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Cobh B&B and Inns
1 review
“Classy Cobh B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful location in the heart of Cobh overlooking the bay and nestled under the impressive Cathedral. Food, comfort and hospitality of real quality. Aoibhinn offers a home from home and gave a first class guide to Cobh present and past. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Couldn't give a high enough recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Rory
Thanks a million for your very uplifting and positive review.
Sometines one wonders if one is doing everything right and to see service in the guests eyes as opposed to my own all the time.
The cathedral is indeed one of the most stunning in ireland and in fact we had a new bishop ordained here yesterday - which was lovely.
Thanks again & take care
Aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
25
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a great stay at Ardeen and loved the view out across the bay. Aoibhinn was a wonderful host - she's great to chat to and i'm very thankful for her recommendations on my itinerary while i was there. it's a very good set-up with a little kitchen and lovely living area available for guests (even had mince pies on offer). The room was spotless and warm and i'd recommend getting one of the rooms with a view over the Bay. i really can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: definitely request a Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you kate-glenn for your lovely review - much appreciated.
It's important for me to give good advice to my guests for their days out - hate to see people going wrong on their holidays.
Must do homemade mince pies for next December.
I am so lucky with being an old house it holds the heat fantastically and is always cosy.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to Cobh or Cork some day.
Take care and have a great 2013.
Warmest regards
Aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Aoibhinn (pronounced Aveen) was a blast! This was our first trip anywhere and Aoibhinn was awesome! Great stories, good travel advice. She was soooo helpful! Loved the beds, the little kitchenette. I'd stay here agai! What a view!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Barb G
Thanks a million for your lovely review - really appreciate it at this time of year - tough going here in the winter so if you have any friends coming to ireland, I can do them a great deal at the moment or in the winter months.
We did have fun and really enjoyed your company.
The beds are all Orthopaedic and the kitchenette is so so handy for all to use and gives a social element to the house also - which i love.
Yes the view still amazes me.
Thanks for staying and I hope we shall meet again.
Take care
aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Aoibhinn is a wonderful host and a very good cook too! Tremendously gracious and has wonderful stories to tell. The view of the harbor is hard to beat all the sites are within easy walking distance. The rooms were very comfortable. Self-catering is an option too and I'd consider that for several days on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much Don0053 for your lovely complements - I think I could improve on my cooking to be honest - but thanks!!
You shall have to come back again and I shall tell you some more stories.
We are so lucky here at Ardeen with our views and our location - can't beat it for town centre and yet high up too.
Self-catering is not a problem at all - in fact I have an american family over Christmas taking the entire house and doing just that - happy days.
Have a lovely Christmas.
Warmest regards from Cobh and Ireland and it was truly lovely to meet you guys.
Thanks for staying
Aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped in Cobh on our first night during our visit to Ireland in late-August and we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Ardeen B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed Aoibhinn's wonderful hospitality. The views were spectacular and our room was very comfortable. The location of this B&B is absolutely ideal for exploring and sightseeing in Cobh. We enjoyed meeting and conversing with a number of other guests over breakfast (which was superb).

We're already reminiscing fondly about this visit and about how fortunate we were that the Ardeen B&B was our first "port of call" in Ireland. My highest recommendation here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Eoin
So happy that we could accommodate you on your first night on the Emerald Isle.
Thrilled you enjoyed your stay and I love when conversations start over breakfast.
Thank you very much for the recommendation and you would be more than welcome back anytime.
Take care
Aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What's the difference of a B&B and a hotel? The feeling as if you're staying at a friend's house, and that is the greatest charme of Ardeen B&B.
And of course the spectacular view over the habour.
Add really nice and clean room, super-comfy bed, yummy breakfast, a guest kitchen for the odd cuppa tea (or coffee), and a real living room - but most of all the warm welcome and the personal touch by the lovely owner! We'll come back, that's for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Katja
Thanks a million for staying with us and writing a great review and really happy to hear you had a relaxing time - enjoyed our night out in Connie Doolans local pub.
Eventhough I have worked in hotels for many years now, there is a huge difference in the B&B and the hotel experience and I am so happy you got that.
Thanks again & see you soon in Berlin.
Aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Thank you to Aoibhinn for making me feel so welcome, and for sharing this charming gorgeous house with million dollar views across the harbour. It is easy to find, being just 1 minute walk from the cathedral and 3 minutes from the town; parking was easy, right at your doorstep. Lovely to wake up to the cathedral bells, though very hard to get out the big comfy bed. Thank you most of all for being so nice and kind, for it is you that make the place so special. Wishing you all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoibhinnmcgee, Owner at Ardeen B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear anaussieabroad_12
Many thanks for staying with us here in Ardeen B&B Cobh Cork and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Really enjoyed chatting about Australia & China to you with the other 2 australian girls that were here - really interesting.
Yes I do agree the house is very easy to find being in the brilliant location that we have beside the cathedral - sorry about the bells but they have toned them down a lot recently - I think it is very much part of Cobh and really adds to the atmosphere of this special town.
I love that you found the bed comfortable as that is so important for me to hear. I try to sleep in all the beds from time to time to get a customer perspective on things.
Thanks again & take care - enjoy your brother at Christmas and your parents next summer - would be lovely to see you again with them.
Aoibhinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardeen B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardeen B&B

Address: 3 Harbour Hill | Adjacent to St. Colman's Cathedral, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to spectacular harbour views, some of the most luxurious cruise liners sailing by your window and a tasty breakfast at Ardeen B&B Cobh, Co. Cork. Located right in the heart of the heritage town of Cobh in East Cork (known for being the last port of call for the Titanic), Ardeen B&B boasts a prime position in the town next to the stunning St Colman's Cathedral, overlooking the 2nd largest natural harbour in the world with Spike Island & Cork countryside in the distance. This 200 year old period townhouse is located 5 minutes walk from Cobh train station & the heritage centre.*Guest sitting room with open fire, stunning views & Sky sports*Drying & storage area for wet gear, golf clubs, fishing rods etc.*Microwave & fridge available*Washing machine & dryer available - extra charge*Kitchenette available to make tea/coffee etc.*Parking*Packed lunches available for daytrips - extra charge*Traditional Irish Afternoon Tea welcome*Daytrip / itinerary advice with free internet for research*Children welcome -book library & toy box*Baby equipment*Babysitting service - extra chargeArdeen B&B is approved by both Failte Ireland and B&B Ireland. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have en-suites (showers), TV’s and hairdryers for your convenience. Towels & bed-linen are provided. German spoken.PLEASE NOTE THAT NOT ALL ROOMS HAVE SEAVIEWS WHICH ARE GIVEN ON A FIRST COME FIRST SERVED BASIS OR SPECIAL REQUEST (if available at the time of booking) ESPECIALLY IN BUSY SEASONS. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardeen B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.