We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of Cobh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountview Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mountview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
John O'Connell Street, Beechmount, Cobh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Cobh B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Cobh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived at this lovely B&B a few hours early but the host Noreen said that was no problem and showed us our room. It was a little small but very clean and comfortable. The view from our room was of the cathedral and harbor,very beautiful.The center of town was a 10 min. walk and the was a great little pub at the corner of block the B&B was on. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. Noreen was very friendly and a pleasure to talk with. We would surely stay at this place if we visited Cobh again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara falls
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a very disappointing stay in. Dublin where you could have been in any country we came upon this gem. Noreen was most accommodating. she gave us advise on things to see in Cohb and how to take the train to Cork. She recommended places to eat and allowed us to enjoy the view from her relaxing conservatory. her breakfast was excellent. the drive was a little steep but once we parked the car and used our own feet we enjoyed the scenery and the inclined roads. A super friendly place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfortunately, I can't agree with the other reviewers. My husband and I booked ahead with a travel agent for a double room. Upon arrival, we handed our certificate to Noreen only to be told that our room was given away by her husband to a couple who got there before us and did not have any certificate or proof of reservation and hopefully that was okay. Of course it wasn't but what choice did we have at that point? They wanted a double so he just gave them ours. My husband and I got to sleep in a room with two very small single beds with virtually no decorating and very small room. We then went to shower and the shower wasn't working. Called Tony up to fix it and it had been clogged or something but he did get it fixed. The dribbles that came out made for a very long shower though. Noreen was a kind lady and I'm sure she felt bad but it should have been rectified or a partial refund given. We never really met Tony except when he was fixing our shower. There were scraps of paper in all the drawers which she had written the Internet password on, toilet paper wrappings. There was no shampoo in the shower. Breakfast was very tasty though. I can't take that away but I cannot recommend this b&b, nor would we return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great place to stay in such a beautiful town.
We only had 1 night here but wished it had been longer.
Noreen was such a wonderful friendly host we felt at home as soon as we arrived.
Rooms were lovely with small ensuites. We had the harbour view from our room which was wonderful. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from.
The town centre is a short walk downhill with loads of eating options.
We ate at Amigos Pizza in West Beach Rd where we had the best pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The granddaughters and I stayed with Noreen and Tony while visiting Cobh in June 2013. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, and Noreen friendly and helpful with touring advice.

The place is a bit tricky to get to with a manual transmission car but worth the effort. The only thing I might complain about is that the towels smelled a bit of cigarette smoke. And you can hear the chimes of the Cathedral on the quarters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed with Noreen and Tony Hickey at their B and B in Cobh in the middle of July 2013 and we could not have felt more welcome. It was as if we were long lost relatives. To me it felt like 'old' Ireland where everyone is made to feel welcome no matter where you come from or what you do. Cobh itself is quite staggering in its beauty and takes the breath away as you arrive at the top of the hill overlooking Cobh Harbour and there is so much to do there. You do need a car as it is located on some very steep hills but you get free parking at the harbour for an hour which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in 2009....the place was recommended by Val of Dunromin B & B in Kilkenny.
Had a lovely room...town is beautiful! Went out to dinner & had seafood... had an allergic reaction.Woke up wi two swollen eyes. Noreen was great & gave me some ice packs to reduce the swelling! Would highly recommend this B & B...very clean, great food, wonderful accomodations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Bed and Breakfast

Address: John O'Connell Street, Beechmount, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.