We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop in Cobh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilbert's Restaurant

Gilbert's Restaurant
11 Pearse Square, Cobh, Ireland
+353 21 481 1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gilbert's Bistro is situated in one of the two historical squares of the beautiful heritage town of Cobh. This cosy and friendly Bistro boasts a range of local favourites such as Linguine with Prawns, Tempura Cod with Mushy Peas and Homemade Cinder Toffee Icecream. Daily specials allow diners to enjoy the best of local and seasonal produce with all food freshly prepared by a passionate team of chefs. Pop in for a scone and coffee or relax and enjoy a delicious meal with friends. Gilbert's Bistro are members of Failte Ireland and the Irish Restaurant Association. Gilbert's is open 7 days a week serving breakfast from 8am, Lunch from 12pm and Dinner from 5pm.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stop in Cobh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Can't go wrong with the chowder here. It has three types of fish in it and is excellent! The fish and chips is good too. Nice atmosphere as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear MartyGa
Thank you for trip advising Gilbert's Restaurant. Delighted you enjoyed the chowder and the fish and chips. Kindest regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    9
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Finally Dry Land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

After 5 transatlantic sea days, we port at Cobh Ireland and wander into town enjoying the blowing rain and blustery temperatures. We spy Gilbert's Restaurant and are served delightful leek and potato soup, 3 fish chowder, and share a portion of superb fish and chips. Go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Tom

Thank you most kindly for your trip advisor review of Gilbert's. Delighted that you enjoyed the chowder and chips and also that you enjoyed your day in Cobh.
With kind regards
Ann
Co Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxford, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“With Tony Bennett singing it was beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Went in for lunch and seafood chowder but had the soup and sandwich. The waitress had a good sense of humor as I changed my mind and kidded her for rushing me. The smoked salmon and tomato/pepper soup was beautiful. Definitely a do over next time I'm in Cobh (pronounced Cove)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Boccigallupo
Thank you for your review of Gilbert's Restaurant and I am delighted that you enjoyed Tony Bennett singing in the background and also that you liked the smoked salmon sandwich and the tomato/pepper soup.

Kindest regards
Ann Daly
Co - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've been to Gilbert's 4 times since February 2014. But it's my 1st time, since been on trip adviser. Like I said, been there a few times and tried something different every time. And on Saturday night was no different, the service and food was excellent. Well, worth the the €7 car ferry return fare or car trip from the city. Looking forward to my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Mealtruth
Thank you for your great trip advisor review and I am glad that you came by the ferry and that you found it well worth it. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards
Ann
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really recommend this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As soon as I walked in I was struck by the tasteful decor and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. I was spoilt for choice with the menu and when I finally made up my mind I was not disappointed the food was delicious. My only regret was that I was too full to try the desserts. Another good reason to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Aggiebobo

Thank you for your very kind review of Gilbert's and I am delighted that you enjoyed the decor and the relaxing atmosphere. Next time you come try our gorgeous homemade ice-creams with many different flavours - made here in our kitchen by Keith and Shane.
Kindest regards

Ann
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gilbert's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilbert's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.