We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castletownbere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Glengarriff Road, Castletownbere, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wicklow, IE
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Really stunning views from room, very quiet comfortable rooms ensured restful sleep. Breakfast was really good, tasty, plenty and lovely hot plates. There is a really comfortable guest lounge with panoramic views of the sea and Bere Island. Host excellent source of really practical information ranging from recommending an excellent restaurant for dinner and activities

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed there for two nights. The rooms were large and well equipped. In each room you have a TV and a bathroom with a really hot shower (nice after a day of walking in the rain). They have a wide range of different breakfasts (Irish or continental). The first day we arrived we were wet to the bones and it was really great that the host offered us to dry our clothes overnight. That was really helpful as we had to continue walking the next day. The B&B is not in the center of the town but the host offer to drive you to Castletownbere (it is 10 min walk from town). We can really recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife, sister, and I have been staying at Sea Breeze each year for many a year. We are from New Hampshire, USA, and what started as your typical search for a place to stay and hope for the best, turned out to be just that-the Best! The home is beautiful with large rooms that are spotlessly clean. One can easily walk to the town center in a few minutes. As it is located on Bantry Bay the views are great. Breakfast. Oh, yeah, there are no better ones to be had in Ireland. Excellent coffee, and a fry that will get you through to your evening meal. Everything I have told you is reason enough to stay at Sea Breeze an initial time. However, the reason we go back is the McGurns. These are warm, friendly, welcoming people. You don't just get checked in and checked out. You are treated like old friends from the start. We are now old friends. We shall continue to stay at Sea Breeze for as long as we are able to return to Ireland. Should you decide to give it a try please say "Hello!" to Noralene, Aiden, Cristin, and Amy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie Pass, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Thrilled to have chosen to stay at Sea Breeze B&B in Castletownbere. Noralene was terrific, and her breakfasts were wonderful!!! So much choice, so much quality!! The B&B is beautiful, spacious, and very clean. The view from the front patio was lovely, and we enjoyed time there sitting in the sun, taking in the view and chatting with new friends.
Would love to stay there again!!! Highly recommend to everyone! Loved the Beara Penninsula too, two nights was a good minimum but could have stayed longer and been very happy.

Room Tip: All rooms good, some do have water views. Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Beautiful B and B located in the Beara Peninsula. The hosts, Noralene and Aidan, were very helpful and hospitable, and the rooms were beautifully furnished with comfortable beds and powerful shower. The breakfast is wholesome with a varied choice, and most impressive of all is the range of local produce on the breakfast menu, especially the cheese plate and kippers. The view of Bere Island is spectaculaR and the sun deck outside is a delightful spot. All in all, if you need a place to stay in Castletownbere, look no further than Seabreeze, which will make your holiday all the more memorable. Highly recommended! Great value for money.

P.S., Colin Farrell once stayed here during the filming of a movie some years ago.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in recently, the situation is perfect for exploring the area, the rooms are really comfortable and spacious, and breakfast is delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots, Cambs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We have travelled fairly extensively in Ireland over the past few years, and I can say that without doubt, "Sea Breeze" is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Perrfect surroundings, charming hosts. Cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Address: Glengarriff Road, Castletownbere, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownbere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownbere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.