We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Shore B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Shore B & B
Save
You added Atlantic Shore B & B to your Saves list
Newtown, Bantry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed staying in Maggies B&B. She is a warm person and she cares a lot about her guests.
The breakfast is simply awesome, the best we had in ireland. The rooms are nice and clean and we really loved the big table for breakfast. you get in touch with the other guests easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
37
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton,NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Can you imagine a lovely, clean, friendly B & B in West cork, overlooking Bantry Bay? This is the place for you. The welcome from Maggie Doyle is exceptional. The rooms are clean and spacious and the beds are superb.It would be darned hard to improve on the breakfast, even in the finest restaurant. Wait until you see the table settings!! Fresh fruit, delicious home made scones, exceptional service, and a superb reception from Maggie. No one could ask for more. By all means, take the Priest's Leap Drive, Sheep's Head, Mizen Head, and Goat's Path Drives. I promise that you will be pleased that you did! In West Cork, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and stayed here our entire vacation back in 2003 and it was wonderful. The breakfast table that Maggie the owner sets out is absolutely brilliant. Located near the peninsula's offering the most beautiful coastlines I have ever seen and all within a days drive. My cousin Tim accompanied us on this trip but stayed elsewhere...he said he wished he had stayed at this B&B instead. We always planned to return to Ireland but something always came up. Sadly Tim passed away last june at the age of 50. My wife and I are no longer going to put the trip off...we are going back to Ireland soon and bringing her parents. Hopefully this B&B will have room for our next trip. Sincerely, Bob and Sharon Horvath.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was my second year to stay in Maggie's. I stayed with her for 8 nights and it was perfect as usual. I was given a double room - no extra charge, the brilliant white bath towel was replaced every day - I meant to tell her not to, but kept forgetting. On cold mornings the heated towel rail was on - such consideration in what passes for summer weather. The showers are terrific. Foreign tourists were so surpised and pleased with Maggie's breakfast Buffet feast that they photographed the table. I guess that introverted folk might find dining at one large table a bit offputting but it makes for interesting conversations with visitors from around the world Maggie has a lovely jolly laugh and tries to make everyone feel welcome - she's a real treasure. One would have to be very contrary to find anything to complain about - but there's always one - such people would find fault in Heaven. Great value in a spotlessly clean, quiet house- what more would you want?

Room Tip: The two different rooms I stayed in were excellent - I reckon all the bedrooms are as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Friends who stayed here a couple of years ago recommended Maggie's place and we are thankful. This is the best B&B we ever stayed, from the outstanding bedroom linens to the spectacular breakfast. We were also addressed as 'dears' or 'darlings' by our delightful hostess, who also recommended sights and places to eat. We are sorry we never made it to the 'full Irish" part of the breakfast because both morning we filled up with scones and her delicious fruit preserves. They have WiFi and easy parking and it is a very nice neighbourhood to take a stroll in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful night at Maggie's during our drive through Ireland.
A couple of reviews have stated that Maggie is over friendly & talkative. In my opinion you would have to be very introverted for this to be a problem. Stopping at her home beats the socks off staying at many hotels. Did I say the breakfast was the best on our holiday!
Her home is 15 minutes walk into town, but you can rely upon her recommendations for eating.
Thanks Maggie.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

In July,2011, we stayed at Atlantic Shore for two nights. Our host, Maggie Doyle, was as welcoming as any host could ever be. There is fresh coffee and tea upon arrival. The rooms are lovely. The view is spectacular. Bantry is a grand Irish town, conveniently located, great culture and history, exceptional church, lovely shopping, and the friendliest people you will ever meet.The breakfasts are really quite remarkable. First class in every way.I give this the highest recommendation!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Shore B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Shore B & B

Address: Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Atlantic Shore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Shore B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.