We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
Maritime Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Bantry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kenmare
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great staff great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We try to visit The Maritime 3 or 4 times a year and each time it exceeds our expectations. We booked the Penthouse suite and although the outside looks a bit weather beaten, the room itself is very spacious and comfortable. So good in fact we had dinner and breakfast there. I visited the bar while my wife had treatments in the Spa, both proved to be a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. We both left the Maritime with our batteries fully charged and relaxed, which was the whole point of our visit. Big thank you to all the staff, as always they could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear bobbyblot

Thank you for the very kind Tripadvisor review about your most recent stay with us at the Maritime. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay once again. It is returning guests that prove the quality of the effort we try to give to all our visitors and I am glad we do it for you regularly. I will be passing your comments to all the team here and I'm sure they will be as well pleased with them as I am.

Again my thanks and we hope to have you both return again soon to recharge the batteries

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    200
    71
    26
    19
See reviews for
132
307
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

stayed recently with work, and Ive stayed plenty before - good location, plenty of parking and 1 mins walk into town, plenty of pubs and restaurants close by.
The lay out of the place is starnge, seems to be split into 2 levels, and this requires taking 2 seperate lifts to get to some rooms, so its a bit of a maze - but thats not a major complaint.
Staff are fine, breakfast was good, room and pools nice.
Shame about the wooden hoarding just across the road from the hotel - kinda spoils what could be a nice view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear brookevilledublin

As a regular visitor and contributor to Tripadvisor I was delighted with your comments recently posted about your stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. I think it is great to have our frequent guests comment also as this keeps us on our toes. We know some of the imperfections in the area and with time we might be able to improve them but it is good to have reminders to see if we can try anything in the nearer future.

Anyway I would like to thank you again for the positive rating

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I always believe I am very fair in my assessments and am not given to writing poor reviews but some issues about this hotel really need to be highlighted.

Arriving after a long day travelling we were 'greeted' by the most unfriendly, unsmiling, unwelcoming receptionist I have ever encountered. Has this staff member not been trained in customer relations?? (19/9 pm) Had it been suitable I would have left straight away.

This design of this hotel means it is extremely long, meaning if your room is at the far end (as we were) using two different lifts and long corridor walks are required. (not recommended for elderly or infirm).

The room itself was very clean and well appointed. The en-suite was also spotless although warm water power very restricted - possibly because of our room's location. Wi-fi signal good although to access I had to make the long trip back to reception to obtain a unique code. (why did the receptionist not explain this??)

The bar area was very busy - bus tours use this hotel - but at least the young staff here were helpful and hard working

If you choose to stay here make sure you are used to the sound of traffic as the main road runs right along the front meaning road noise is clearly audible at all times. This of course meant early morning wakening for us.

Having had a morning walk around the town we returned for breakfast at just before 10am. (breakfast was served till 10.30). A table had to be cleaned for us - even though the room was mostly empty - and no explanation of procedeure was given. I had to ask for tea/coffee. The buffet hot breakfast was one of the worst I have been offered. The various items had obviously been sitting under heat lamps for quite a time as they were dried up. There was no floor service support as the waitresses seemed more interested in having personal conversations with each other. When one did appear to do some work she came to the table immediately beside us (2 feet) where she scraped unwanted food off plates and swept crumbs onto the floor before spraying the table with a bottle of cleanser!! That finished our breakfast.

We checked out shortly afterwards and will not be checking in here again. Additionally, the cost e120, was exhorbitant for the service offered.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Alasdair50

Firstly I would like to apologize for your lack of satisfaction with your recent stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. Obviously our first impression on arrival influenced your visit with us and while the room and facilities were up to your expectations our delivery of service was lacking. For this I apologize.

My aim as manager is to deliver the highest possible standard of service on a consistent basis and your experience, while not reflective of the majority, does show that there are times that we let ourselves down badly. I will be bringing all your points raised to the attention of the persons involved and will hope to improve so that should you consider visiting again you can experience what the Maritime Service is really about.

Yours sincerely

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena n . ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in the Maritime. We were on a coach party, and were very quickly checked in by staff. All staff were very friendly , helpful and pleasant . The hotel was kept spotlessly clean( great decor , and really large comfortable beds) , great leisure facilities brilliant , and prob just about the best food I have tasted. If you are thinking of staying at the Maritime, dont think any longer ... just book it and go - you will not regret it .

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the bay ... try to get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear jcksj752

What a precious picture you paint of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor and we all thank you for it. I was particularly pleased that as a senior Tripadvisor reviewer you found everything so good especially the staff. I will be passing on your comments to all the team here and i am sure they will be as pleased.

As an aside I know there are people who monitor my replies so I just wonder will they get my comment on the "precious" ??

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Situated on the edge of Bantry town. Very good location. Few minutes from the main shopping and restaurant area Evening entertainment in the Hotel.Staff very helpful and pleasant. Food quality average.

Room Tip: Unfortunately rooms with view are beside main road. Provided windows kept closed quiet. Rooms locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear aoreilly_13

What good hotels like are return guests and frequently returning guests become part of our Family. Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor review even if it is from the Maritime's extended family. Like with all families we have our imperfections but you guys gloss over those and for this we thank you. Also thanks for introducing us to more of your family and friends and if I am correct they will be back for the First Friday Market in the future!!!!

Kind regards and we look forward to your next trip across the country!

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

this was our 2nd stay here this year and a perfect way to round off the summer. There were 4 of us this time and from the moment we walked into the hotel we were treated lik one of the family. It is good to see that tghe standards of service are being maintained in all areas to the usual high standard.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, Service in the bar and restaurant friendly and efficient as always, with all the staff making time to have a quick word with us. Thanks once again to James in the leisure centre for all his help in organising a birthday surprise spa break. Roll on next summer for another trip

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear aoreilly_13

Once again it was great to have you return to us and this time sharing the experience with other members of your family. Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor review and I will pass it around to your extended family of friends here at the Maritime which I'm sure they will enjoy.

Look forward to your return soon

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is really lovely if you like comfort and modern surroundings. We stayed in the family suite which was so worth the extra few Euro. We had baby with us and he had great fun rolling round the spaciouse living area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar was nice and had entertainment on each night even though it was midweek. The Breakfast was just yummy and staff very helpful. The leisure cente was nice but, as per usual in hotels these days, the pool was way too cold for my liking and other guests also. I didn't want to bring my baby into the pool which was a dissappoint for me. Free parking also. The hotel is sort of 2 buildings so it takes a while to get used to the lifts for which area you need to go but you won't get lost. Very good hotel to stay in for exploring the area around. Would definately return. We were on 4th floor along the front of the hotel to have views of the bay. We didn't find the traffic to annoying but other guests we spoke to said the lower floors were noisy but its was people that lived in quiet areas and weren't used to traffic. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Millyhol

What a good review on Tripadvisor you gave us. I can see why they consider you a senior reviewer through the honesty of the review. Yes we were very good but you had one or two points that you expressed where we have room for improvement. I will discuss with the leisure center your comment regarding the children's pool and see if we cannot change this to your satisfaction.

Again it is really refreshing to get such a review as yours

My thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Address: The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, the new Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 114 luxury bedrooms including 30 two-bedroom suites and 3 one-bedroom suites the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room which will provide excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 300 guests as well as a business centre with a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre and underground car park. The hotel will also feature a Spa which is currently under development. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.