We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheepshead Peninsula

Sheepshead Peninsula
Bantry, Ireland
353 27 61226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Bantry
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Magnificent walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I wouldn't consider myself a "walker," but while staying on the peninsula, I figured I would give it a try - well, I was hooked. The B&B I where was staying (Seamount Farmhouse-highly recommended) provided me with a walking map and I was off. I did a few of the shorter walks, but the Sheepshead was my favorite. The first time it was a bit cloudy, so I returned on a bright, sunny day for another go. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous! The paths are well marked and strenuous enough to feel you are walking, but not so hard that you can't make it all the way around. I have a lot of great memories of my walks and I hope to return again soon to explore a few more on the Sheepshead. Don't miss the cafe! A really lovely lady runs it and even remembered me when I returned the second time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the most beautiful areas in Ireland! Be prepared for narrow roads with hairpin turns, but the spectacular views are well worth the white knuckles!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Scenery - OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a lovely place, idyllic actually. For drivers new to driving on the left.....careful attention must be made to the turns, etc. Well worth the drive. Take your camera.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very scenic part of Ireland - very tranquil. Totally recommend it as an unspoiled area of Ireland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermoy, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful viewing point.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The drive up to the sheep's head is a little daunting the road is very narrow and is a steep climb up to the top. There are deep dykes on one side and a very long drop down into the sea at the other side. It is very difficult to pass if you meet other traffic coming against you, one has to be very careful or you could find yourself in a deep boggy ditch which would require a recovery truck to lift your vehicle out of same. But this is half the attraction the sheep's head has to offer on a good day once you reach the top which is a dead end the views are stunning you can see for miles out into the wild Atlantic Ocean and over Bantry Bay. You can also walk for miles on the walkway out along the headland with beautiful views in all directions. It was a beautiful sunny and calm day that we drove up there and the screeching of the sea gulls was magical to listen to on the cliffs and as they flew around above us. Just sitting looking out over the ocean and listening to the sea gulls was like a therapy one might use just to relax and de stress ones body, again a beautiful place for a picnic and to take some photographs for the album. The drive back down from the top is another adventure as the steep hill wants to make the car go faster than is safe to do so. Along the drive back down towards the Main Cork Bantry Road we came across a memorial at ahakista which was put in place to honour the victims of the Air India Jet which was blown up out over the Atlantic Ocean some years ago. It is a lovely monument to the memory of the victims of that terrible terrorist attack which claimed so many lives both young and old. May They RIP.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheepshead Peninsula also viewed

 

Been to Sheepshead Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheepshead Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.