We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the Bantry countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard na Greine

Save Saved
You added Ard na Greine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard na Greine
Newtown, Bantry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Bantry B&B and Inns
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Bantry countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and elderly mother-in-law joined me for a 3 day stay in September. A tremendous welcome from Phyllis and John Foley ( and Jack the dog) on arrival, set the pattern for the holiday. Clean, comfortable rooms with excellent facilities with a great choice of options at breakfast. Good wholesome food is chosen and prepared with meticulous care and attention. Lovely mature gardens enable guests to relax. I had the feeling that we were being accepted into their very home which they have had for the past 23 years.
As a special treat, watch Jack hassist with the clearing of the breakfast paper tablecloths! John was particularly helpful in providing a coastal route to follow after a visit to Kinsale. The establishment is some 30 minutes walk from the Bantry Town Centre where parking is free for up to 2 hours. The only disappointment was some of the resturants being closed on Monday and Tuesday while we were there. We would have no hesitation in returning to this lovely jewel of Bantry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

A typical amall town B&B - felt like we were staying in someone's home. Clean and welcoming. It's quite a way out of Bantry town - so when we said we would get a taxi into town for dinner (we didn't feel like driving in the evening after driving 100s of miles around the coast) the owners offered to drive us into town. Very kind - but unnecessary as the local taxi service - Buddies - driven by thecharming Bridget - was very good and Bridget even recommended a good restaurant (I forget the name but it's near the Bantry hotel) and phoned ahead to book us a table - which was just as well because it was busy on a Saturday night! Rooms a bit small - but adequate for one night in a B&B. If you're on a budget - this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, MA, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

As former B & B owners in a high-end, resort destination, we know what we are about when we book accomodations. This locale features deluxe, comfy beds, luxurious sheets and fittings, delicious, generously-portioned breakfast, free WiFi, genial, well-humored hostess, beautifully-kept gardens, and close by to civilization. Exceptional value for your recession dollar/Euro!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duren, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights in a nice and clean twin room of Ard na Greine B&B. Private parking was available just at the back of the house. The furniture was comfortable. In the morning our hosts served a delicious and plentiful breakfast. Thank you very much again to Mr. Foley who helped us in finding accommodations for the next steps of our journey. In general, he was very helpful considering my poor English.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots, Cambs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We have travelled fairly extensively in Ireland over the past few years, and I can say that without doubt, "Ard Na Greine" is the best we have ever stayed in. Perrfect surroundings, charming hosts. Cannot be faulted.

Jim Martin

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed there for a couple of nights and can gladly recommend this place to fellow travelers. The "Ard na Greine" B&B is situated in a convenient and beautiful location right near Bantry. Its charming hosts made the place spotless clean, cozy and comfortable. It's a true pleasure to sleep in the silence of the trees, wake up there in the morning to the birds singing and have your breakfast overlooking the lovely landscaped garden.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

By the start of the second week of our honeymoon, my wife and I had encountered mixed results (see my other reviews of White Lodge in Cork, the Celtic House in Killkenny, and Dunroven in Waterford, Sea Breeze in Cahersiveen, and Algret House in Killarney).

Ard Na Greine wiped the slate of the previous negative experiences and lived up to everything we'd hoped for in coming to Ireland - perfectly representing even the idealized version of what we wanted from a B&B: beautiful views over manicured gardens, a private balcony for enjoying the serenity (only broken by the occasional bleat of a sheep or neigh of a horse in the distance), extremely well-appointed accommodations in a *beautiful*, well-cared for home, and an utterly charming hostess. And then there was Jack, the family dog who, to put it mildly, was a character in his own right. We actually cancelled our plans for travelling about on the second day of our stay just to relax and enjoy the peace of the place, lounging about and reading a book on the balcony. It's only two minutes from Bantry town, so it works well as a base of operations for Bantry or the Ring of Kerry, but serene enough to offer pure relaxation.

Bantry itself was a lovely town - a true surprise, to be honest- and we could have easily spent a week there, enjoying the comfort and welcome we found at Ard Na Greine. Recommended with the strongest endorsement!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ard na Greine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard na Greine

Address: Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ard na Greine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard na Greine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.