We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Bar

The Waterfront Bar
The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
+353 (0)27-53933
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 37 Restaurants in Bantry
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Breakfast is served from 9am to 12.Bar food served from 12 to 9pm. (Food served up to 9.30pm in summer months).All Meat is fresh everyday as Owner also has a Butcher shop in Bantry town.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fresh fish cooked to perfection with delicious chips. Brilliant view of Baltimore harbour with great selection of drinks. Centre of the festivals held each month in summer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A Gem of a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went in saturday, ordered turkey and ham dinner. Food on table 15 min later. It was one of the best dinners I ever had. As was after a hard mornings work decided to treat myself to a desert. OMG....it was divine cheesecake and the slice was man size!! This place was exceptional value for money onlything I could find fault was that the tv was on mute and as I was on my own I couldnt hear it as radio was also on. But its a non issue as a whole. Also found out they do take away dinners so can ring in order next time im passing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiseodonoghue, Manager at The Waterfront Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing ye again in the future.



Louise o Donoghue(manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“another great spot in Bantry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had the most amazing meal here - the family have a butcher and you can tell (as the Fish Kitchen has its own fish mongers..good idea!) we had to tell then to hold half of the potatoes as by now we were wise to Bantry/Cork portions - okay if you work outside all day but for us London office dwellers it was murder - put on half a stone in 6 days..) amazing simple food - and not expensive- as usual - friendly staff and a great chat was had

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiseodonoghue, Manager at The Waterfront Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant and writing such a lovely review. we are delighted you enjoyed your food, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Louise o Donoghue (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visit February 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friendly staff, big portions. Well worth a visit, clean and conveniently located across from the main square

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We called here for lunch last week and were not disappointed with our choice. The food was of good quality, with generous portions. Staff were friendly

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Bar also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Waterfront Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.