We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O'Connors Can do it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant

O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant
The Square, Bantry, Ireland
027 55664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Bantry
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a very stylish restaurant. With modern decor. This is the perfect place to bring your family or business associate. We also have a private dining room.
Sligo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“O'Connors Can do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Dined in O'Connors Restaurant and had an outstanding meal together with top class service. This is a brilliant place to dine and you can be assured of a very warm and sincere welcome.

It was a great dining experience. If you are in Bantry you have to visit this Restaurant.I will most certainly look forward to returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic32, Owner at O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate it. And look forward too seeing you again. Kind regards patrick Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    64
    28
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Two adults and four kids lunch on Saturday. Lovely welcome, friendly service and possibly the best children's menu we've come across in terms of choice and (definitely) value. This place delivered good soup to the adults but the children's food was taken very seriously and was delicious. Too many places throw out tired favourites for children but O Connors was excellent across the board.

We asked for the bill and before we got a chance to express how impressed we were, we were informed that the first two children were free for November!!

I'm sure this place would be lovely for a grown up meal too but for family fare and service it's a super restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super-as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just had a lovely meal in O Connors.Calamari & Ardsallagh goatscheese starters were delicious.Mains of Pork and Seafood Pancake were super.Service was very fast & the staff were very friendly & obliging.Lovely athmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Paolo Tullio is rarely too far off the mark and that is true here.

The food here was spectacular and the service from the staff was professional yet with a hint of old Irish charm and friendliness that appears to be lost in many parts of the country.

Mussels and Calamari were our starters and both were highly enjoyable. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her main of monkfish, cooked to perfection while I went for the classic fish and chips which without doubt was the best I have had thus far.

As alluded to previously the staff were outstanding, the food was top drawer so overall a top notch experience was had here. Thank you

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic32, Owner at O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review . I really Appreciate you taking the time to wright a review about my restaurant and staff. It is all ways a pleasure to look after nice people. We look forward to seeing you again . Kind regards patrick Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not a single complaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had dinner twice at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant while on a weekend break in West Cork. Excellent food and plenty of it. Lovely staff - obliging and friendly. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. We ordered from the a la carte menu on the first night. Fresh fish, perfectly cooked and seasoned. Lovely accompaniments. We were surprised when then bill came at how little it was. The food was so good that we went back on the following night for the early bird. Delicious fresh calamari and fish, steak and sticky toffee pudding. For the unbelievable sum of €20 per head! I cannot remember the last time that I have had not a single complaint about the food, service or price. A very satisfying dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic32, Owner at O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review . I really Appreciate you taking the time to wright a review about my restaurant and staff. It is all ways a pleasure to look after nice people. We look forward to seeing you again . Kind regards patrick Kiely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connor's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.