We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
New Street, Bantry, Ireland
003532756651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Fish Kitchen is a family run business that prides itself in having a menu that is almost entirely all fish with the exception of sirloin steak and chorizo in our ‘Chorizo Chilli prawns’ starter. The Local fish shop downstairs, our sole provider of fish is also owned by the family. This ensures an excellent supply of the freshest fish in the South West. Where possible fish is sourced locally from the coops and trawlers of the South Western ports. For further information on the source of our ingredients follow the link to our website.Our Food is Simple, Fresh and Locally Sourced.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Ate with girlfriend here November 2013. Excellent seafood restaurant located in centre of Bantry town, Service with a smile really applies at the Fish Kitchen. Our waiter was excellent and was willing to offer his opinion (high valued) on the dinner options. Had Calamari and crab cakes for starters, both excellent. Would go as far as saying the best Calamari I have ever tasted. Had monkfish curry and monkfish fillets for mains, again both excellent especially the curry. Desserts were not a disappointment either with the lemon cheesecake and chocolate brownies provide a beautiful finish to what was a high quality meal. Good selection of wines and craft beers on offer too. Prices are a little on the high side but worth it considering the quality of food and service provided. Book in advance as is quite small and was very busy when we visited on a Saturday night. This is a top drawer seafood restaurant and a must try if in the Bantry/Wesht Cork region!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    56
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent meal here - fresh seafood was all perfect. Good service also - only complaint is maybe it is so small you are very close to tables and everyone can hear what is going on - but other than that would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“SMALL BUT BEAUTIFULLY FORMED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were invited here to join friends who live near Bantry as they had heard good reports.

We were certainly not disappointed by the food - some really exceptionally fresh and well cooked fish dishes. As the restaurant is situated above the local fish shop this is not surprising.

Prompt and friendly service. It is small and booking is essential. We will certainly return on our next trip to West Cork.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the nicest meals I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place was a great surprise. Our meal was really tasty, affordable and obviously fresh off the boat seafood. Great bistro style atmosphere, nice waitress. Cheap wine, and a great selection of craft beers. Prawns with chorizo... Unreal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Another gem of a restaurant in the south west. Cork has some truly excellent seafood to offer and service to match, something we could learn more about in Dublin for sure.

Less intimate that O Connors across the way but notwithstanding it promoted a very good atmosphere and encouraged interaction with partons at tables in close proximity to us which was fun.

My wife chose the chowder this time and the salmon which were both devoured eagerly. I chose the chorizo and prawn starter which was immaculate followed by the lobster which was sensational. The staff were very friendly in aiding us make our selections and choosing suitable wines to compliment our choices which was a nice touch.

Overall a very good experience, the food is top notch. If you are after a more romantic meal I'd choose O'Connors but there is little or no difference to me in the quality of food in both - they are excellent and a credit to Bantry

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.