We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lovely Riverbank Barn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grove House and Courtyard Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
Save
You added Grove House and Courtyard Cottages to your Saves list
Skibbereen, Skibbereen, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The lovely Riverbank Barn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were so delighted with our staying at the Riverbank Barn, it is a beautiful and cozy place and the bottle of wine on the arrival was great.
The central heating was working fine and the barn was warm, no problem with hot water, the jacuzzi in the room it's a great idea and the bed really comfortable.
The night cleared at times and we were able to contemplate the stars and constellations while in the hot tub.
Ideal for couples!
The area is gorgeous and next day Lough Hayne was great, we went for the walk to the hill top and around the lake, nice weather.
We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    32
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
218
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in Lassanroe Cottage for weekend, lovely cottage and enjoyed our weekend stay! Thanks to Anna and Peter for lovely self catering break in the country! its little added touches which made it worthwhile! the decor in the cottage is gorgeous and modern and everything we needed was in this cottage from the milk in the fridge for cuppa after the journey down, the logs to light the stove in the sitting room, the champagne to enjoy in hot tub, oil for frying pan for brekkie in the morning its the lil things that you wouldnt think of that made it all worthwhile. trip to mizen head is a must!!!

Room Tip: loved the lassanroe cottage!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the time we arrived it was amazing ,the tree house was spotless and warm we were greeted by rose petals on he bed and a bottle of bubbly,we would recommend the tree house to anyone that is looking for somewhere romantic and different.well done anna and peter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

From first appearences down to the last fine detail our stay was amazing. On entering we were greated with a warm and spotless room with a lovely greating note and a bottle of bubbly :) the rooms were beautifully decorated down to rose petals on the bed. Every aspect of the cottage was made to suit our needs with even fresh milk in the fridge for a cup of tea. A booklet was left with details of restaurants and places recommended to see. For relaxing nights they had sky and movies or relaxing in the hot tub watching the stars. It was definitly an amazing weekend to finish my 2012 weekends away. Looking forward to returning in 2013 to stay in one of their other accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in the Treehouse at the Grove in October.I would gladly recommend it to any couple,I've never stayed somewhere so romantic or secluded.Many great tourist attractions around the area.The hot tub on the balcony was an amazing addition to the Treehouse,along with the rose petals and champagne.Check it out for yourself!!!!...you won't b disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in Courtyard Cottage 2 for 2 nights. The concept of luxury cottages is great but it didn't live up to my expectations considering the cost.

The jacuzzi was amazing and the rose petals on the bed and candles were a lovely touch as well as the sparkling wine. Milk, tea, sugar were also provided which was great after a long drive. The information book was very useful as well.

Unfortunately there were a lot of small things that made the cottage more rustic than luxury. Tiling around the sink and jacuzzi was lazily done. Cobwebs in the sitting room and tv's that have seen better days. The shower was fitted in (very cleverly) under the stairs but unfortunately it meant if you were anyway tall you had to bend down. These are all small things really but the most disappointing thing was the bed. The mattress had seen better days and I could feel every spring which didn't lead to a good night's sleep. Considering it was €149 a night I don't think a quality mattress is too much to expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here on a romantic weekend, really charming from the moment we arrived. Sparkling wine in a cooler, lights&heating on etc and unlike the review below, the hot tub was the perfect temp! Highly recommend a trip to Lough Hyne too, views spectacular! Bring a picnic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grove House and Courtyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House and Courtyard Cottages

Address: Skibbereen, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Courtyard Skibbereen
Skibbereen Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove House and Courtyard Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.