We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to go if you want a stylish relaxed country house stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liss Ard Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Liss Ard Estate to your Saves list
Liss Ard Estate
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Castletownsend Rd, Skibbereen, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Manchester England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You've got to go if you want a stylish relaxed country house stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is fabulous. The house is beatiful - modern and cool but not fussy or pretentious. The grounds and setting are also wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and the people are lovely. Food and wine were first class too. A must-visit

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    21
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
78
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the house for four nights in all and had a fantastic time. Very quiet luxury spot for a very reasonable price. Food is excellent if a little limited in range but none the weaker for that - breakfast is especially good as was the steak. The location is ideal for exploring West Cork though you needn't ever leave the estate if you don't want to. Seems well set up too for families. Can't recommend it enough. Staff very pleasant and helpful and the lounging rooms are fab.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are better but you pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at on Liss Ard Estate in the Country House a week ago with our 2 children. The children were enthralled from start to finish! Once we were settled into our bedroom we set off to discover the grounds! There is so much to see, 50 acre lake, nature trails, petit beach, mature trees, unusual plants and that is only to mention a few! We then saw the CRATER! Wow what an expereince, we got there at dusk and it was magical, mysterious, unusual and a must see. It is apparently the only crater in Europe created by James Turrell.
We ate dinner and it was superb local food, everything was from only miles away! Breakfast was also perfect Irish food cooked with lots of love!
Don't worry if you forget outdoor gear, wellies/coats are all there, torches for an evening stroll and picnics for a fine day! This is a hidden gem and we will be back. All 4 of us had a ball!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife our 18 month toddler and I stayed at Liss Ard Estate in November last year. It was off season and had some time off so decided to see what was available mid week for a few nights. We weren't looking for anything spectacular as we had a reasonable but not extensive budget to work from.

A quick search of some sites and I found Liss Ard estate. It looked perfect for a winter break - lots of woodland walks, lakes, and big open fires, soft cosy couches. What more did we need. What we expected only scratched the surface of what the staff and management had available.

For kids they had swings, a seesaw, sandbox, a lovely playroom with logo, crayons, building blocks, a TV, videos and a special mention for the cute Indian tepee tent which our son loved.

We requested a cot for our son and Arthur (the excellent Manager) put us in the Roman Room where we set up to cot in the big walk in wardrobe. A baby monitor was provided that worked from the sitting room which let us relax in front of the huge open fire while the baby slept.

There was so much more to recommend but I would be here all night.

We could not recommend Liss Ard enough and defiantly intend a future visit. Thank you Arthur and staff for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful New Years break we and our three children spent at Liss Ard! From the wonderful food to the beautiful bedrooms, Arthur and the team certainly offered us a memorable experience. As parents to three small children aged 6, 4 and 11 months, having a morning Kids Club was a welcome offering! They loved it, as did Mum and Dad! We were lucky to be there for one of the regular Supper Clubs which was a lovely evening with great cuisine and company. Ringing in the New Year outside in the architecturally-designed Sky Garden was also a special treat! There's so much on offer outside on the 200 acre estate and the array of wellies and jackets at the door for guests' use ensure that the weather won't be a factor. I can't compliment Liss Ard enough: a great destination and while the house is stunning, children are still very very welcome - it ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I only stayed at Liss Ard for one night - a very short (but much needed) weekend break in the country from a hectic week in London. I was warmly welcomed, and upgraded to a lovely, quiet and homely room is the main house. The house is a stunning country pile mixing old style grandeur (grand piano, gorgeous public rooms with roaring fires and comfy sofas) and very modern artwork and styling. There were not too many guests when I stayed so was fortunate to have the place almost to myself - very, very peaceful and just what I needed. The bedroom had plenty of space and the most comfortable bed, as well as other nice touches such as gourmet coffee.

I thoroughly enjoyed many hours strolling around the beautiful and well-marked trails in the grounds. Liss Ard provide wellies and tube socks if you need them, and bikes and kayaks if you are feeling adventurous. It was October when I visited and too cold to take kayaks out on the loch but I imagine this would be stunning in the summer.

Breakfast was delicious - all home-made and organic produce - very tasty and cooked by the friendly staff. All in all, a fantastic and very unique place. I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaranlennon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We’ve just spent three brilliant days at Liss Ard. It’s a wonderful find, a little off the beaten track, in a very special part of the world. The charming estate felt like our very own temporary home with its open fires and relaxed atmosphere. The house and amazing gardens have plenty of brilliant old and, relatively, new stories to tell – the sky garden is particularly unique.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful and we found our double room reasonably priced. We also had amazing food for breakfast and dinner too (three-course dinner for about €35). It sounded too good to be true before we arrived … but it surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liss Ard Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liss Ard Estate

Address: Castletownsend Rd, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liss Ard Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Georgian property returned to its former glory but with furnishings offering a comfortable modern twist. Two hundred acres of woodland lakes and waterfalls for our guests and visitors to enjoy. Fifty acre Lough Abisdealy available for fishing, swimming and kayaking. We buy all possible produce from within 50Km of Liss Ard and have started growing our own vegetables again in our walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Liss Ard Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liss Ard Estate Hotel Skibbereen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liss Ard Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.