We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Cork Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Cork Hotel to your Saves list
West Cork Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Hotel is very deceiving hotel from the front, but once you enter the Reception it has a lovely classy modern feel. Lady on Front desk was lovely and very welcoming. Once you leave the lift on the 1st floor some rooms can be a bit of a maze to find. I had a lovely good sized room looking over the front of the hotel, but once I got there the thought did cross my mind as to what’s the most straight forward way to get back downstairs? But this is far from a complaint about the hotel.
It has held onto its traditional layout well while providing a very comfortable stay. The bathroom is narrow but they have worked well with the space and not as bad as some expressed.

My stay was due to work reasons on this visit but it is definitely a Hotel I would come back to and stay for a lovely weekend in West Cork.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    91
    26
    19
    6
See reviews for
54
122
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

i emailed the hotel in advance requesting a quite room and was emailed back straight away.in fact out of 4 others on our trip it was the only one that did..arrived early and had nice lunch..which had a bit of a delay cos the waitress told me my toasted sandwich had fallen off the plate so they had to make more..i wonder how many places are that upfront and instead just shove it back on the plate..had dinner here too and was lovely..staff were great..rooms are fine maybe abit warm in summer..outside you can sit on a old railway bridge that has been converted into a smoking area/beer garden over the river...nice on a sunny day .i will be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

This looks like a fab hotel when you walk in the door but the minute you go to the front desk expect a frosty reception. We felt like we were inconveniencing her.
Rooms were all over the place, very difficult to climb stairs with heavy baggage to the older part of the hotel. Furniture was shabby, smell of cigarette smoke in a non smoking room. Useless hairdryer. Very hot that day and couldn't leave the window open for safety reasons. No wifi for laptop.
Breakfast: couldn't get orders right, took 3 attempts to get my cousin's request correct. But when we got it, I loved the full Irish!
The following day there was a wedding at the hotel, and cars had to drive over the red carpet outside to get to the very small carpark, very embarrassing. Music stopped at 3am under my room. My cousin's room was right beside the generator and this meant she couldn't open the window in the hot room. She did get a new room the next day though. We asked for extra tea/milk etc for the room and didn't get it for 3 hours. There was only one cleaner for all the rooms which we thought was cruel to her. So, to give her a break we told her to skip our room and believe me she was grateful.
All in all, it's a fabulous part of the country but because we have no choice doesn't give the hotel the excuse for frosty staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenBuchanan, Salesa Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Hello Lorraine,
Thank you for your review I was most disappointed to read in your review that you felt our reception staff were frosty, as we pride ourselves on giving a warm welcome to our guests.
However we appreciate feedback and we apologise sincerely for the problems you encountered while staying here. We hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to redeem ourselves,
Kind regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Our stay at the West Cork Hotel was thouroughly enjoyable and we would not hesitate to stay with you again.

The breakfast menu was marvellous and to be honest was better than most similar hotels that we have stayed in.

Our dinner on the first night was so good that we also had the E15 special on the thursday night and both the food and the service was exceptional.

Our room fitted the bill but my wife was dissappointed that we could not get the radio on the tv set as she likes to listen to Lyric radio in the morning.Prehaps we did not press

the correct button.

Skibbereen is a great gateway to the West Cork area with Clonakilty on one side and Mizen Head,Bantry etc.on the other.

Finally,I must pay tribute to all the staff at the hotel who we found to be very helpful and friendly at all times and for the great service which they provided.

All our friends and relatives have been told of our most enjoyable stay with you at the West Cork.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenBuchanan, Sales Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Hello Padraig,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great reveiw. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The West Cork Hotel. I have passed your compliments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,
Kind regards,
Karen Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Booked a 3 night B&B plus 1 Dinner Break. I had emailed ahead of our arrival date looking for an upgrade, which I might add I was willing to pay for. Firstly no one replied to the email, I had to phone them. I was assured the room to the front was large and recently refursibhed. Large it wasn't, refurbished it was, however it was at the front of the hotel and when I had enquired I was told it was a bit noisey but that I'd have a choice of a room at the side as they weren't booked up that week. The noise from the road was quite loud. I requested we be moved, I was given a key to the "only other available room "(!) this looked out on a flat roof with extactor fans from the kitchen.....I doubted it was the only room left but anyone given a choice would have done as we did and took our chances with nicer view and nicer room and stayed put. only to discover later that evening that shower wasn't working properly. We were told they would check the pump. Came back to the room later that night.....shower wasn't fixed! Following morning we complained and mentioned the noise from the family upstairs, who we thought were going to come through the ceiling at one point!!!!! We were told our bags would be moved to a new room...headed off for the day, hair unwashed !!! I enquired about rooms at the side of the hotel, near the bridge, which had lovely views and was told they were twin rooms. Any way, when we got back we were given a choice of two other rooms, opted for the larger one, naturally.......as we moved in so too did a family into the next room, 3 kids who sounded like 10 kids once they got started!!!! On the way down to check out on our last day two of the rooms I had enquired about were open as they were being cleaned......they were not twin rooms but double rooms!! That topped it all off for me, and yes, when I got to reception and was asked was everything ok I didn't say a word, we were encountering Receptionist No 3 at this point and as I couldn't stand to be fobbed off yet again with some more lies and excuses, I'd heard enough at that stage, I just paid the bill and left!!! Food was ok, waiting staff and bar staff were friendly and efficient. Overall impression and experience.......... disappointing. BTW, one receptionist told me that when the hotel is full they usually expereince problems with the showers...be warned!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenBuchanan, Sales Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Hello,
Thank you for the feedback in your review. I was very disappointed to read of the problems you encountered while staying with us at the West Cork Hotel. I have brought all points to the attention of Management & staff and I can guarantee that the issues are being dealt with.
Regards,
Karen Buchanan,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our vacation. We wanted to be near our Irish family who lived in Skibbereen. We arrived late after a long day of traveling from the north of Galway. Although the restaraurant was closed, they made us some great sandwiches and salad to enjoy with our pint in their pub. The rooms were comfortable and clean. What makes this hotel great is the staff. Everyone was friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. While we did not eat any other meals beyond breakfast due to family plans, I wanted to enjoy the dinners they were serving. Each night they served a special that was obviously a hit as the place was packed. Our last night in the hotel, we went to the pub late after a family party only to find a large group of customers enjoying the pub and singing Irish songs. We were immediately encourage to join them and we ended out trip with great memories.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This hotel had everything Location, Food, Room Quality.
From the moment we checked in we felt welcome. The receptionist treated us as if we were age old friends. The room was huge and had one of the most comfortable beds i ever slept in. The hotel is right on the bank of the River Ilen. The hotel have put a lovely little promenade with seating so you can relax wathing tghe fish in the river below. They have also converted an old Bridge into an outdoor seating area and you can watch the heron stalking the fish below it. We found a lovely, lively little pub up the road Cahalanes which had a lovely pint of Guiness.
So the best parts of the hotel: Food, Room, Location
Worst parts: Finally a hotel which didnt have any.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenBuchanan, Sales Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on the West Cork Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your compliments onto our head Chef, Dean Diplock, and his hard working team in the kitchen. They are thrilled with your feedback, as our house keeping staff. We appreciate all feedback but compliments such as this give everybody at the hotel a great boost. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future, Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Cork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cork Hotel

Address: Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skibbereen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking full advantage of the peaceful River Ilen views, The West Cork Hotel offers the best of both worlds – tranquility and location. Situated in the town centre, with all that Skibbereen & the surrounding area has to offer on our doorstep, the hotel is more than ideal for a complete break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. 34 spacious, uniquely decorated guestrooms satisfy a variety of accommodation requirements, with many offering river views. The Ilen Bar is a place of relaxation, with luxurious leather seating and a delicious bar menu for a swift, casual snack. For those with more time to enjoy a leisurely bite – the Restaurant offers a carvery lunch by day, and full a la carte menu by night, featuring many of the local food producers on our menus.We are the ideal choice for those on business, those looking for an activity based holiday and those of you that just wish to kick back and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West Cork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cork Skibbereen
Hotel West Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cork Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.