We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Location, Fantastic Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Cork Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Cork Hotel to your Saves list
West Cork Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Price, Great Location, Fantastic Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I arrived into Skibbereen and could not find a guesthouse availible, so I called the hotel and after discussing my requirements I was given a Very good rate. My initial room was quite small but fine for a single person. After 2days elsewhere I checked back in and they remembered me and gave me my same rates and upgraded my room and it was a lot bigger. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic, You could pretty much have everything and anything listed. When breakfast was busy I found I was overlooked for about 15min and other people sat nearer the staff were constantly being served before me, however after going and asking to be served everything was great.
The Bar was a good place for a drink or to take in one of the daily meal specials.
The location was perfect, right in the centre of town so after exploring West Cork you could park up in the carpark and walk into town for a well deserved Guinness.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCORK, Front Office Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments, and my apologies that you were overlooked during breakfast service. We hope you will come back to see us again soon,

Edel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    91
    26
    19
    6
See reviews for
54
122
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I spent a couple of nights at the West Cork with my 13-year old daughter; I know the area very well having visited regularly over a period of many years, but this was my first stay at the hotel. After booking online I received a very friendly confirmation email, and when we arrived we were greeted with the same warmth and informality. We were a bit early for check-in, so were given an alternative room which was ready; it was clean and modern, very quiet, and had a limited but pretty view over the river and beyond. The bathroom was spotless - always a key factor in my assessment - and the bath and shower were both excellent. The room was a bit warm at night (the weather was unexpectedly mild after the long cold winter) but I turned the radiator off and opened the window slightly and we were quite comfortable.
We ate in the hotel dining room both nights, and the menu offered an excellent choice of courses with emphasis on fresh seafood and other local products. I thought the standard of cuisine and presentation was superb, and the service friendly, prompt and unobtrusive - everything you could want from a good restaurant. My daughter is a fussy eater (!) but was catered for without difficulty and with the same cheerful, easy-going attitude which made it such a pleasure to stay here.
Irish hospitality is legendary and County Cork is one of the friendliest places I know. The West Cork lived up to all my expectations in this respect, and I recommend it without hesitation. I would describe it as comfortable rather than posh, and there is some refurbishment still under way, but there was genuinely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCORK, Front Office Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
So glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay - hopefully you'll come back to see the finished product once our renovations are completed, hoping to finish our bar end of April!
See you soon,
Edel O'Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I was visiting for two nights to do a sponsored cycle in the area and booked late. Was told the hotel was full but received a phone call a few hours later to be told of a cancellation - happy days! I arrived late during atrocious weather and received a lovely welcome. My room was probably the furthest one from reception and was smallish but fine for one. The directions to it would have been easier with a sat-nav... (2nd night I got lost and was trying to enter the wrong room before I copped my mistake). I went on my cycle the next day and arrived back absolutely soaking wet. Luckily, the staff were very sympathetic and arranged for an extra heater for my room to enable me to dry my cycle gear. I had food in the bar the first night and my breakfast in the restaurant. Both were excellent and great portions. I'm going back in July '11 with family and if I'm looked after half as well I'll be a very happy man.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

First of all I have stayed here before and enjoyed the experience but just to warn you it is not glamouress. Who wants fluff and bother in the beautiful wilds of west Cork anyways? However it is imbued with west Cork hospitality and graciousness that cannot be bought in a Hilton, (in which I must stay frequently). It is wonderful to see the majority of reviews on this site agree. The front desk staff especially Adele Margaret and Karen are fantastic and very helpful in finding your way around or suggesting sites to see. Ann Marie is a godsend for sorting you out for things needed and always very happy to see you. It is wonderful to be remembered and appreciated and this little gem is the one to do it! A
special shout out to Lukas in the pub as he's your man for a well pulled pint. The food is wonderful and locally sourced for that extra lovely touch of authenticity. I and my family shall return. Again and again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCORK, Front Office Manager at West Cork Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is nice to be appreciated I have passed your comments on to our staff - hopefully see you again soon!
Edel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

superb stay in this lovely hotel in january. Food was fantastic and staff were most helpful throughout our stay. will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Good clean place, staff friendly and welcoming prices are fair, will return again

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We had stayed here ten years ago and not been impressed but on returning recently we loved it. The staff all very welcoming, the decor updated and the prices were lower than ten years ago. Alli in €59 euro for room with b&b for 2 and the breakfast was excellent. Very happy people.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Cork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cork Hotel

Address: Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skibbereen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking full advantage of the peaceful River Ilen views, The West Cork Hotel offers the best of both worlds – tranquility and location. Situated in the town centre, with all that Skibbereen & the surrounding area has to offer on our doorstep, the hotel is more than ideal for a complete break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. 34 spacious, uniquely decorated guestrooms satisfy a variety of accommodation requirements, with many offering river views. The Ilen Bar is a place of relaxation, with luxurious leather seating and a delicious bar menu for a swift, casual snack. For those with more time to enjoy a leisurely bite – the Restaurant offers a carvery lunch by day, and full a la carte menu by night, featuring many of the local food producers on our menus.We are the ideal choice for those on business, those looking for an activity based holiday and those of you that just wish to kick back and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West Cork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cork Skibbereen
Hotel West Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cork Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.