We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious homemade cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalbos Cafe

Kalbos Cafe
26 North Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
South West England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stopped by chance at the Kalbos Cafe and ordered the lemon & rhubarb cake which was served warm with a dollop of cream- absolutely delicious! The service was friendly and efficient and the lunch menu had a good range of hot and cold dishes. I would certainly call back again when we are next in Skibbereen and recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice place in the centre of Skibereen. Had an open crab sandwich, it was really good. Coffee is good also.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely tiny cosy eatery.Healthy lunch menu plus the Best desserts, brown bread, mince pies. Service was so friendly

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Homemade Food with Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very good place for lunch but get there early as it is small and tables fill up quickly. The soup is fantastic, homemade as is the bread accompanying it. Salads are substantial enough to keep one going until dinner time. Pleasant staff, newspapers to keep one occupied until food arrives.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We dined as a group on a Saturday evening. It is a quite intimate restaurant, I would say max seating for 20.
The food was very good with a wide selection. I had duck salad starter and monkfish main. Both very good. The waitress was attentive and friendly. Very pleasant experience

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalbos Cafe also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
 

Been to Kalbos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalbos Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.