We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens

Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens
Valentia Island, Ireland
353-66-947-6176
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

They were actually closed due to storm damage.It was possible to visit the house via intercom and receiving permission to visit. Well worth it! I've been before when in full bloom and undamaged ...I like it either way!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wish we could have visited - Temporarily Closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After a very tight winding road with beautiful scenery we arrived at the Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens and found it closed. There was severe damage to the Gardends in the February 2014 storm. Make sure it is open before you go.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Subtropical gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have not stayed at Glanleam House only bought a tickets to enter Subtropical Gardens. As we bough tickets lady explained us how to walk thought the garden and the best ways to explore it. She borrowed us a tiny map for the time of visiting. Interesting place, at some points really colorful, but mostly subtropical nature of the gardens is about different strains of trees and shrubs. What really astonished us was a small dog's burial ground found on the side while we walked along the path. As you walk or just before enter the gardens you might see wonderful views down over the place. While visiting that place you have to go to the path through the woods. It is like entering another world for few moments. What else? Healing area, few very friendly horses and many atmospheric and magical moments!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a great stay at Glanleam, magnificent manor house with lovely furniture and the most hospitable host you could wish for

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Horrid owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

'Horrid owner", we ended up going in to grounds to turn around because the road down was impossible to turn round in due to an obstruction on road. We did not even stop yet we had a women yelling at us and running after us, shaking fists. We just drove out. But, by the time we got to the gates she had locked us and another car in. The intercom was not answered. We were about to call the police when we were also let out by a guest. DO NOT drive into this place. DO NOT go near it with a barge pole!!!

This was a very upsetting episode, especially as we had young children with us, tainted our holiday.

We have been advised by locals that the same view, but from a better elevation can be seen by staying on the main road up towards the slate quarry. Just before you arrive there is a free and fabulous view

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens also viewed

Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 
Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.