We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous private enterprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens

Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens
Valentia Island, Ireland
353-66-947-6176
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Glengarriff, Irland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“fabulous private enterprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

i really loved this very special garden! and i am impressed how near to perfect this family run paradise looks. don't expect a manicured public garden though, but rather an atmospheric and at places really magical garden. and stunning views all over the place. the walk along the sea is a lovely green jungle, the path to the beautifully situated light house is fabulous. the stroll between the stream and the walled garden rewards the mindful walker with many impressive features including two healing places. the developed part inside the huge walled garden is a highly decorative potager. some trees and shrubs are really very impressive (japanese cedar Cryptomeria japonica 'Lobbii'), rare (tasmanian laurel [Anopterus glandulosus] and black tree fern (Cyathea medullaris]), and huge (lily-of-the-valley-tree [Cletra arborea]). the only small downside might be a lack of labels on many more interesting plants and even minor mistakes on the rumpled hand drawn map through this garden haven. but real plant hunters don't mind those details - they will appreciate the green jewel as a masterpiece-renovation in progress. thank you meta for kindly explaining a bit of the background of your enterprise!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1 Word...Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Gorgeous Is The Only Would You Could Describe It As...It Was So Comforting, Relaxing And Elegant...I Am A Photographer Myself And I Found The Shots Great There Is Lovely Scenery Also.....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A really interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've been once before and enjoyed it again., The gardens often give the feeling of being in a jungle, with huge tree ferns and wonderful trees. Walks beyond the garden to the lighthouse, along the coast and other places make it even more interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring and magical - don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our innkeeper in Killarney gave us a run-down on the Ring of Kerry and sent us to Valentia Island to Glanleam Gardens. What a fabulous place! Take the car ferry to Valentia and go to the right out of town and follow the sign to Glanleam. It's really tucked away on a tiny road so hopefully no one will be coming out as you are going in. The innkeeper there met us in the driveway and gave us a map of the place in a plastic sleeve. There are numerous trails between the inn and the Atlantic. The trails snake through an amazing forest that was planted in the 1800's with sub-tropical plants that will leave you with your jaw hanging. You can walk to the lighthouse from the paths as well. There are walled gardens on the premises that are in disarray, but there is so much more to see on the paths that I couldn't have cared less that the walled part wasn't up to snuff. There are so many magical areas that we spent a couple of hours just wandering. Being in my 50's, not much really surprises me, but I was entranced the entire morning wandering around. This is a best kept secret for sure. Please get off the Ring of Kerry circuit to see this amazing place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could Be Really Beautiful With A Bit More Love and Attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited here with high hopes but were disappointed. These gardens were once magnificent I sure but appear to have fallen into disrepair. There are wonderful trees and plants here but it is hard to appreciate them because so much is overgrown. We paid 6 euros each to visit here and can only hope that all the money taken on entrance fees is put toward a gardener with a vision who can restore these gardens to their former glory. A good start would be to chop back plants from the paths so it is easier to travel thoughout the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens also viewed

Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 
Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.