We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shealane Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shealane Country House to your Saves list
Shealane Country House
Bridge Road | Corha-Mor, Valentia Island, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We went to Valentia Island to visit the Skelligs Islands and we were really lucky to have the chance to stay at the Shealane Country House.
Our room was just perfect, with an incredible view. Mary was really kind and the breakfast she prepared so tasty.
Everything was perfect and I would recommend this B&B to everyone.
Thank you Mary!!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The best BB we stayed in. Lovely rooms and delicious breakfast!
Kasia&Martin

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A french couple visiting Ireland during the last 3 months.
After many b&b we stop for our last trip at Slealane Country House and so we claim that it is the best of the best with their welcome, the very cosy room with a beautiful view and the full breakfast without any extra charge.
Mary was very helpfull (advice on visit, restaurant).
This b&b is our very favorite one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

One of the best B & B's we stayed in - my daughter and I were touring the Dingle and Ring of Kerry/Skellig areas. The hosts were extremely welcoming and gracious, the room restful and the breakfast delicious. The breakfast room provides a sweeping view of Portmagee - we hope to stay here again some day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in Valentia hoping to go to Skellig Michael (not this time). Mary and Jim were so delightful and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and the room was fantastic. We could see the Valentia bridge and the water from our windows. I hope to return someday and maybe make it out to Skellig Michael. I will definitely stay at Shealane's again if I ever have the opportunity. When in the area be sure and stay there. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We traveled to Valentia Island to run a half marathon and stayed at the Shealane Country House based on TripAdvisor reviews. Mary, the owner, was an absolute darling, incredibly accomodating, friendly, easy to talk to and a great cook! The breakfast each morning was delightful and the rooms were warm and cozy. We stayed in a double upstairs and enjoyed a lovely view of Portmagee. We were the last travelers for 2011. Mary and her husband close down from Oct-Feb (I believe), so if you are looking for winter accomodations you may need to keep looking.

The only thing that I wish we had known was that there were no toiletries included in the room. I would have packed my shampoo and conditioner and a little body wash. But Mary provided us with a little travel bottle of shampoo and we bought a bottle of conditioner at a local shop.

They also do not accept credit cards. Make sure you have enough Euro before you try to check out!

Room Tip: The upstairs room facing Portmagee was spacious and comfortable! Plus, we really enjoyed looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My Husband, daughter and I chose to stay at Shealane Country House thinking it was near my Grandmother's home on Valentia Island.(It was!) Mary met us and told us about the Heritage Museum on the island and gave us information about family names there also. We went to the museum and found my Grandmother's name on school records , it was wonderful. We were thankful for the great room and lovely breakfast and feel so blessed to have been able to see and experience up close a piece of family history.

Room Tip: Research on line and try to view the pictures of B&B's, we also read reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shealane Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shealane Country House

Address: Bridge Road | Corha-Mor, Valentia Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shealane Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shealane Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.