We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carraig Liath House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carraig Liath House to your Saves list
Carraig Liath House
Coromore | Bridge Road, Valentia Island, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Didn't expect to stay in Valentia but couldn't drive any further(October 2012). Couldn't get a boat out to the skelligs but was able to make the walk to the point & watching the storms come over the skelligs was worth it. Glad we stayed with Frances l & wish we could have stayed longer. Top notch rooms/great breakfast. Cheers Frances!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The house is immaculate and our hosts were friendly and welcoming. We just had the one night's stay.
It was a Sunday evening and we normally carry a bottle of wine with us but did not have one on this occasion. I asked where we could buy some wine and was told that most places were closed already or far away. Our host "donated" a bottle for us to enjoy on Sunday evening and I replaced the next morning. A wonderful example of Irish hospitality.
The house is located close to Brea Head which is a wonderful 2-3 mile walk with amazing views from the top. There is a new "Pay and Display" car park (new since my previous visit about 3 years ago) and there is also a small plaque close to the car park showing where the first transatlantic telephone cable left Europe for Newfoundland. There were several unsuccessful attempts before one actually worked on a consistent basis.Good food and music in close by Portmagee and the chance to hear Gaelic spoken as a part of normal conversation.
Great stay and great value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Unfortunately, we only had one night to enjoy this cosy B&B. It was very clean, overlooked the harbour of kenmare and the hostess was more than friendly, offering us a wide range of choices for breakfast - from full Irish to vegetarian omelette, scrambled eggs or cereals. Irish hospitality at its best - I definitely recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Carraig Liath House was situated in an awesome location. Close to coast, awesome views if you decide to go up a little farther (worth it!!) and close to the village ( 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive.) Comfortable rooms, clean, with nice beds; spacious bathroom. Assorted breakfast items, recommend the pancakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What more could you want!
Carraig Liath House is an excellent B/B on Valentia Island Co. Kerry.
Away from the village of Portmagee, but within an easy 5 minute walk to pubs etc.
Carraig Liath House is in a stunning location with wonderful views over the beautiful fishing village of Portmagee.
We stayed in the spacious, well equiped apartment for 6 days. Lovely.
Frances is a very kind, friendly, considerate person, whose breakfasts are just fantastic, sets you up for the day. The hospitality is second to none.
Without any hesitation we would recommend Carraig Liath House. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Carraig Liath House in their lovely accommodation 3 weeks ago! This was a great B and B made even more special by the beautiful Valentia area in the Ring of Kerry. Hosts Frances & Kieran were full of Irish charm, wit and a passion for the area. From the bedding, linen, room with a bath, great menu for breakfast it is a 'must stay' for anyone who is wanting all of the above. Our one regret is that we did not plan a longer visit. Oh but there will be a next time!
M n M from Oz.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Carraig Liath house has a fantastic location on the Ring of Kerry. As we arrived late, our first view of the spectacular surroundings was as the sun rose the following morning. The view of the hills and the colorful village buildings across the water was picture-perfect (something out of a jigsaw puzzle, perhaps).

The Irish breakfast options were excellent. The rooms were clean, tastefully decorated, and the bed comfortable (very important!). The owner accommodated my wife's late request for pancakes (she prefers to mix the batter the evening before) with a typical Irish smile and no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carraig Liath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Liath House

Address: Coromore | Bridge Road, Valentia Island, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carraig Liath house is a purpose built Valentia stone house , which overlooks the beautiful fishing village of Portmagee with views of the sea, islands, and the mystic Kerry mountains. Ideally located as a base to visit the famous Ring of kerry or the Skellig islands now a UNESCO heritage site, where boat trips can be organised on request. Carraig Liath house consists of three large en-suite bedrooms all tastefully decorated with free hi-speed internet, power showers, hairdryers, TVs, tea and coffee, all with comfort in mind. Phone on request. Five minutes walk to Portmagee where you can sample traditional music on Friday and Sunday nights, and why not partake in Tuesday night is Irish night. Relax and enjoy tea or coffee with some home baking on our newly designed patio where you can watch the boats come and go in the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carraig Liath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carraig Liath House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.