We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, scenic, peacefull retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Villa

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Villa
Knightstown, Valentia Island R565, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Hove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful, scenic, peacefull retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I decided to take my partner on a romantic trip to Ireland and was keen to show her valentia island. I booked atlantic villa and it was absolutely perfect. The house is well located for discovering different parts of the island and is located on the skellig ring route which is a must see. Jackie greeted us, log fire burning and offered us tea on arrival. Our room was amazing and my partner couldn't believe her eyes when she saw the four poster bed and roll top bath. The decor was impressive and craftsmanship throughout the building showed. The room had a sea view and a mega comfy bed. Breakfast was organic home made/local produce with home made honey bee honey and fresh eggs. We enjoyed a walk from the villa to Glanleam house (gardens / secluded beach) and then on to the lighthouse. On return Jackie fired up the sauna for us and no better way to wind down than to sit in the sauna and look through the little wooden pine window to trees and greenery. In the evening we walked to the Royal Valentia hotel bar for a drink and dinner and the owner was very friendly. The Bridge bar in Portmagee a short drive away also does great food. The house is well situated to visit the nearby tetrapod tracks (385 million years old), the candle man and the view point. We highly recommend and will be returning soon.

Room Tip: The room with a roll top bath and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
96
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had a wonderful stay in Atlantic Villa it was an experience that envelopes all your senses. I arrived late on an November evening after along drive from Dublin to a warm and genuine welcome by Jackie and Brian the owners. The wood burning stove was glowing with a sweet smell of naustalgia (turf and wood).
My room felt very luxurious it overlooked the sea, the bed was unbelievably comfortable and what I would describe as boutique style; cast iron bath in the corner of the room underfloor heating in addition a spacious shower en suite.
Breakfast was an organic feast including fresh eggs from their chickens, home smoked mackreal, salad from the organic poly-tunnel fresh home made bread fresh coffee.
The location is breath taking secluded yet a short walk to the harbour or opt for a longer walk cycle/drive for stunning scenary of the Skelligs, Beginish Island and Slate mine.
I stayed two nights and enjoyed the evening comfort of the wood burner and good chat welcome from the local pub lots of laughter - I want to go back in summer to experience the various events I heard about e.g.Triathlon (voted second best to Dublin in all Ireland) and swim from Biginish Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I'd a really enjoyable stay here. It's a great place to explore Valentia and South Kerry. Brian and Jackie were full useful info about what to do on and around the island.
I was cycling around the Ring of Kerry but decided to make a detour onto Valentia and I'm so glad I did. It's a stunning spot and the Atlantic Villa was perfect after a few hard days on the bike.
The breakfast was amazing and it's comforting to see all the veg etc being grown in the back garden.
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the first knock on the door (resplendent with carved pumpkins) we could not have felt more at home in the characterful Atlantic Villas. The food was excellent and plentiful and the wood-burning stove even better. Our room had stunning views over to Beginish Island and after great advice on where to roam and have a pint, the sauna was fantastic! Jackie and Brian have put a lifetime's work into creating an experience you will not be disappointed with. A lovely addition is the plentiful books, maps and local knowledge available. It made a truly memorable visit. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed in both the house and cottages here Jackie and Brian very welcoming. Breakfast great beautiful secluded location with spectacular views over the coast. Very cosy clean rooms and a very good welcome. The decor is good and an excellent place to use as a base for any traveling in his part of Kerry. Roads are good too.

Room Tip: Easy to find in knights town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Atlantic Villa, unfortunately for only the one night, in September and it was a truly magical experience. Unbeknown to us before we got to the car ferry, there was a festival on in Knightstown over the weekend of our stay. Although we were a bit put off by this at first, it added beautifully to the charming atmosphere of Knightstown and our stay in the beautifully restored and maintained ex-cable master's residence. This place is something else and Brian and Jackie are the most friendly and personable hosts, attending to our every need and sharing some good craic and conversation along the way. Our room was absolutely charming, with gorgeous art pieces and the MOST comfortable bed we have ever slept in, complete with stunning views across the garden to the Atlantic Ocean. The breakfast was exceptional, made from all their own home grown fare- the fresh caught smoked mackeral was divine and beautifully presented. The love Brian and Jackie have for this home and their precious garden oozes from every corner of the property and residence and is reflected in the way they make their guests feel so welcome and at home from the moment you arrive. After a delicious dinner at one of the restaurants around the corner, we went back for a night cap in the garden looking out to the sea and Brian came racing out with candles for us. We felt like we were in fairyland! We can't wait to return, next time with more time to enjoy this magical place. Fiona and Dene

Room Tip: They're all beautiful, but upstairs with the seaview is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Atlantic Villa was simply beautiful. The accommodation, garden, hosts, atmosphere - Could not reccommend it enough. Jackie and Brian have added huge character to the house and apartments outside of the building. We stayed in a converted stable outside which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms & living area. Colleagues stayed inside the house and all of us had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Villa

Address: Knightstown, Valentia Island R565, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Villa is a spacious period residence built in 1873,overlooking the sea on Irelands most westerly inhabited island. It is situated within walking distance to the village of Knightstown, yet secluded in its own private gardens. A visitor may choose to stay in the bed and breakfast or in either of our self catering cottages. Since we opened we have focussed on the Green Business Tourism Scheme and have developed our business along the lines of sustainable tourism. Valentia Island is unspoilt and is a haven for all those who enjoy natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Atlantic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.