We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated , clean and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Sheas B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added O'Sheas B & B to your Saves list
O'Sheas B & B
Church Street | Ring of Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
cork
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“dated , clean and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed here for a night in July, location is very central so the only parking is on the public street.Nice friendly greeting from owner. Stayed in a front bedroom which was large and spacious but a little dated with furniture and bedclothes from the 70's. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it. Overall you could do worse as the location is excellent if you want to visit some local pubs within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed in O'Shea's B+B in Caherciveen last weekend. It was our 3rd B+B of that weekend in Kerry and definitely the worst of the lot. There are a few rooms that looked slightly more modern at the front of the B+B but we were given a back room which had a bathroom next door. Two VERY old single beds, wafer thin matress, plastic pee protection sheet under the botton sheet (what the hell???), and mismatching old sheets on the bed. The heating did not work and despite asking many of the staff this was never recified. The carpets were old the room was cold and damp. Bathroom was from the 50's and towels were threadbare.

Breakfast was the last shocker. Cheap and nasty bacon, sausages and eggs (and I normally love Full Irish BF!!). Despite being first down for breakfast when the dining room opened, the fried eggs were hard as they'd been cooked an hour before. VERY VERY lame. This B+B would do well to check out what the competition are doing. A seriously overpriced 30EUR per person.

On a side note, I wouldn't rate Caherciveen as a place to stay next time. Either stop off earlier for a place to stay, or keep on going. Waterville is a lot more scenic!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VIRGINIA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed at O'Sheas B&B in Feb 2008 for three nights. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. We found the O'Sheas very friendly and helpful with information and directions. They fixed us a delicious traditional Irish Breakfast, but for those who wanted something different, there were other choices.

We are going back to County Kerry, Ireland next month and plan to say witht hem again while we visit family in the area.

  • Liked — Convenient to everything in town
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed at O'Shea's last week (May 2006) and it was great. Our room had a view of the bay. The building is not much to look at on the outside, and the rooms nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The proprietor was very friendly and gave us advice on where to go out to hear music and eat a nice meal. He must be quite a talented runner because his living room is full of his medals from running! The breakfast was also delicious, but the standard traditional Irish breakfast. All was a bargain for 60 euros. You can find it on --- (according to his business card). Also very quiet - no sounds from the neighbors and we knew it was a full house that night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Sheas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sheas B & B

Address: Church Street | Ring of Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, friendly, family run B&B in the town square beside tourist office and Community Resource Center. Conveniently located on the Ring of Kerry and Wild Atlantic Way near Pubs and Restaurants with live Irish Music and delicious Steaks, Vegetarian and Seafood. The back rooms have views of mountains and Valentia River. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms newly decorated with new mattresses, pillows and matching duvet sets, TV, hair dryers, soap,tea/coffee making facilities. Lounge sitting room for guests with TV, Books, DVD, games, table and chairs. Choose from a full Irish breakfast, juice, selection of cereals, fruit bowl, yoghurt and cheese, teas/coffee. Boat trips to Skellig rock arranged with free transfer. Local knowledge on Ring forts, Castles, hiking, walking, cycling and running routes (clothes drying facility), horse riding, sandy beaches, archaeological, monastic and historic sites. World Class Waterville Golf Links and other Golf courses only 10-15 minutes drive. Gateway to the famous Ring of Kerry, Skellig Ring and tropical Valentia Island. Holistic, Swedish, Sports Massage and Beauty Therapies available on-site. Free Wi-Fi. Pets allowed. Garden for Guests. Just around the corner from the Bus Stop and only 60 Km from Killarney, Tralee and Kerry Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your O'Sheas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Sheas B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.