We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Right Stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avoca Lodge

Avoca Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahersiveen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avoca Lodge
Gurraneragh, Cahersiveen, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Right Stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My spouse and I were fortunate to spend our 25th anniversary visiting fine folks in Ireland. We had the good fortune to spend an afternoon and evening in Cahersiveen, and were welcomed warmly to the Avoca Lodge. Carmel and Dermot are spledid hosts - witty, happy, and with great knowledge of the area. The Lodge is located along a quiet and narrow road outside the center of town, and is quite peaceful. The central dayroom and crackling fire are the perfect spot for relaxing, reading, and good conversation. The guest rooms are quite spacious and comfortable, and would easily suite couples and families alike. This spot is ideally situated for your north Kerry adventures. Check out the weather indicator in the dining room - the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cerro Al Lambro, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We got a warm welcome, had a large 3 beds room, the owners were much friendly, the site was
very silently,the outside panorama like a dream.
We wish could come back again, hope they change driving side!

Room Tip: We experienced only 1 large room. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed there with a friend during a cycling trip around the Ring of Kerry. The welcome we received was very warm (including tea and biscuits!).
The room was clean and comfortable with an en-suite and had all mod cons including a hairdryer.
Our hosts Carmel and Dermot were lovely welcoming people who recommended restaurants and even gave us a lift to town when they saw we were walking!
Breakfast was delicious with the option of fruit & yogurt if you can't quite manage the full fry up.
I would recommend this place to anyone who values comfort! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I recently returned from a weekend stay in Avoca Lodge,Cahersiveen.What a gem,Kerrys best kept secret.!! Carmel and Dermot are a mine of information,showing us beautiful peaceful walking/bike routes,.They talk from experience and know how.The location is so close to all beauty spots.From the conservatory at night you can see the Valentia lighthouse,how romantic!!!They cater well for all visitors,a home from home,so relaxing.
Their wholesome breakfast included a very special porridge with a secret Dermot ingredient !! not to mention the full irish, with beautiful homemade brown bread and jam.enough to last us for most of the day.This is our second visit to this special location,and we will return again,as soon as possible.Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband & I were attending a wedding in Caherdaniel, Co. Kerry last month so decided to take a few days out to travel around the area. How fortunate we were to have booked in to Avoca Lodge. We could not have met better hosts and in such a beautiful & very well kept home. The location of Avoca Lodge is just spectacular & not too far out of town. Tea, coffee & wonderful muffins were freely available in the conservatory - which was lovely to sit in & relax after a days touring! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

After returning to the Green Isle after a number of years with my husband and two grown children, this was just what I was hoping to find - true family hospitality! A perfect location with most welcoming and obliging hosts. Rooms just like your own home and a wonderful lounge to just sit, relax and enjoy a cup of coffee. Breakfasts more than fillilng and excellent homemade brownbread. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this house. Carmel and Dermot were so helpful. The area is stunningly beautiful. The location was ideal for touring all the Kerry region. I fel that thetrue test of any place that you stay is "would you stay here again " and our answer would be "DEFINITELY"
Despite having the same surname, we are no relation, ( except of course if they win next weeks 185 million lottery) ??????????

Room Tip: all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: Gurraneragh, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avoca Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avoca Lodge to your Saves list