We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Bull

The Blue Bull
South Square, Sneem, Ireland
+353 (0)646645382
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We went to the blue bull recently, we had the scallop & monk fish & the steak, they were lovely & great value. It was busy so we were expecting a delay but we didn't have to wait very long. We ate out in the patio area with lovely flowers along the wall.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, inefficient service model”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited the Blue Bull for lunch, and we were immediately confused as to where to order - there don't seem to be any signs or other indicators that you order at the bar and then sit down. And no one is telling you! I asked when I saw no signs.

We ordered, paid and sat down. It wasn't terribly busy, but the model for delivering food to tables is to walk around and shout out the name of the dish until someone says "yes, that's mine!" Several orders were apparently lost or forgotten as people sat and waited quite a while. We were luckier - our food came quickly.

The food was delicious! The fish and chips were some of the best I've had! My husband had lamb stew, which he loved. The kids loved their food too.

Overall, the food was great, but the service model needs to be updated - made things difficult.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needville, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“As long as you avoid the tour busses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent drinks, great patio in the back for sunny days and nice billiards table. The food was a good value and an overall substantial menu.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Sulphur Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and terrific staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were there on a slow day and the restaurant was far from busy. But that didn't deter them from providing excellent service and ensuring our pint glasses were full.

It is far roomier on the interior than it appears from the outside. The back patio is delightful. We were fortunate to avoid the midges.

Be sure to stop here for your meal in Sneem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub but food is a little Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have had many enjoyable years in this pub and in the early days of pub food it did very well. As is often the case the food became overpriced, over elaborated and a little pretentious. Why don't great pubs stick with the basics of really good pub food. The chef and owner I guess.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bull also viewed

Sneem, County Kerry
Sneem, County Kerry
 
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to The Blue Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.