We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and a great welcome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Bull

The Blue Bull
South Square, Sneem, Ireland
+353 (0)646645382
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sligo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a great welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food at the Blue Bull was excellent. We had fish and chips. The batter was crispy, the fish fresh and the chips nice and chunky. Great kids menu too. I would definitely go there again. Nicest food in Sneem.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As we approached the end of our drive around the Ring of Kerry, we arrived in a little place called Sneem. It was dinner time so popped into the Blue Bull. A lovely range of food on offer. The more intimate dining area was our preference but there is plenty of room in the back room. I chose the mussels in a creamy garlic sauce. They weren't just good, they were quite genuinely delicious. I ordered a side dish of chips instead of the bread. I've eaten this plenty of times in places like the south of France, but if you ever end up in Sneem, pop into the Blue Bull and if mussels are your thing, I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bar and restaurant!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

beautiful food and always look forward to their mussels and brown bread great value for money as well as excellent quality!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A good old fashioned Irish pub, the way they should be! Not cheap but good food and plenty of it. The homemade burgers are fantastic. Will visit again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food But Lacked Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit this restaurant as it was the nearest to the cottage we were staying at in Sneem. The food was quite reasonably priced and I fancied a Curry from the lunchtime menu which after checking with the chef they said that was fine. When the food arrived the quality was quite good but unfortunately the restaurant lacked atmosphere as there was only another two people dining and about six locals drinking at the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bull also viewed

Sneem, County Kerry
Sneem, County Kerry
 
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to The Blue Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.