We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keldun House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keldun House
Save
You added Keldun House to your Saves list
Tarbert, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed there last year on our bike tour through Ireland. We arrrived quite wet after a windy and rainy day, and it was such a luxury to find a room so beautiful and clean. Our hosts were friendly and also interesting to talk to. The breakfast was also just wonderful.
They also had a safe place in their backyard for our bikes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved our brief stay at this B&B. Bernadette was one of the most welcoming hostesses we had while touring Ireland. Very friendly and engaging. We had a triple room, which was very comfortable. Breakfast was to-order and wonderful. Parking in back was very convenient. While Tarbert may not be a destination in itself, it is convenient place to stay when using the ferry to Kilrush. Would stay again just to enjoy the company of Bernadette and her family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Staying at Keldun House was wonderful! We wanted to take the Tarbert Ferry to avoid Limerick traffic and decided an early morning crossing would be best for us. Not only was this B&B just two-three minutes from the crossing point, it was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Bernadette was especially kind and we enjoyed visiting with her. We met Pat in the morning and he suggested we visit Loop Head for a close view of some of Ireland's West Coast cliffs - we took his advice and it was the highlight of our day- we actually enjoyed it more than the Cliffs of Moher. So if you miss a late night ferry, or want to take an early one, spend the night at Keldun House- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

You cannot go to Ireland without visiting the beautiful West Coast. From Keldun House we made daily trips to Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula,Limerick, etc. Coming back to this beautiful B&B at night was a highlight of our day. Bernadette and Patrick could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and a pleasure. We looked forward every day to her breakfasts which are included in the cost of the stay. We have stayed there on 2 separate trips to Ireland and hope to make it number 3 in the future. Love them and their B&B.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely and nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

As you approach the front door the windows fairly sparkle. The interior is warm & welcoming with shiny natural wood floors and authentic plaster detailing on the ceiling of this marvelous 200 year old restored home. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and quiet. The view from the breakfast room is charming with flowers in profusion in April & May. This was my second stay and there was never a question that I would return, it is like coming home. Bernadette & Patrick provide just the right balance of attention to your needs. Selections abound for breakfast, fresh fruit , Greek yogurt, and the hot dishes are excellent. Our hostess even suggested a new destination, the Ring of Beara, for us to explore. The views were breathtaking. Should you need a competent driver to show you the "real" Ireland, just ask your hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are snug & quiet. You won't need a fitness center, challenging walking trails abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had reserved at Dillane's Farmhouse but they had a schedule conflict at the last minute so they arrainged for us to stay at Keldun House right in town. What a nice surprise it was, too. Bernadette was so welcoming and helpful. Our room was spotless and we had a wonderful breakfast. A great value and wonderful jumping point for the Tarbert ferry. Really felt like being at home.

Room Tip: Parking behind house is very convenient!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I wholeheartedly recommend Keldun House. We were greeted with smiles, treated to a comfortable stay, and sent off with a hearty and tasty breakfast. Tarbert also features a nice restaurant and a friendly pub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keldun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keldun House

Address: Tarbert, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tarbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Keldun House Ireland/Tarbert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keldun House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.