We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Ladies Flyfishing team Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Glenbeigh Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenbeigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Glenbeigh Hotel
Save
You added Olde Glenbeigh Hotel to your Saves list
Glenbeigh Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Glenbeigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Irish Ladies Flyfishing team Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Irish Ladies Flyfishing team were based here for our International fly fishing match.
Killian and Marie couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble for them. They catered for up to 85 people most evenings and they did this with ease. The rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent, the service was very professional. They provided us with everything from hairdressers to a safe room for our trophies and raffle prizes!
It's in a stunning part of the country and I recommend anyone pay them a visit - you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: ask for one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

4 of us stayed in the Olde Glenbeigh hotel for a weekend recently and we really enjoyed the experience. This hotel oozes character from the moment you step inside the door. It is quite old and this is part of the attraction. We were shown to our room which was huge. It had antique furniture & was decorated in the old style to match. We had a couple of drinks in the bar & there was a really relaxed & friendly atmosphere there. We decided to have a meal later and I must say the food was brilliant. There was a nice choice which included daily specials & also a lovely selection of lighter bites. Breakfast next morning was great with a lovely buffet selection of cereals, juice etc which we followed with the full Irish. The management and staff in the Olde Glenbeigh are just wonderful, full of chat and fun & have a way of making everybody feel welcome. We were sorry to be leaving on Sunday but we will definitely be back to the Olde Glenbeigh shortly. If you want true Irish hospitality & a hotel with character this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hubby and I have just returned from a four day break staying at the Olde Glenbeigh Hotel.
We could not have picked a better place to have stayed.

The Sirloin Steaks were to die for and everything was presented lovely. Killian did us proud every morning with his Irish breakfast and bless him even left us a breakfast banquet for our departure at 6.30am which was much appreciated and not expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with the irish ladies fly fishing team hotel. Killian and Marie and the staff went above and beyond to look after us. The food, service and craic was excellant. I would recommend anyone to stay here and they will look after you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visit Ireland a lot, and in recent years have sworn off expensive restaurants every night in favor of some good, filling pub food that is properly accompanied by a fresh Guinness. I cannot speak for the hotel itself, but the pub has all the qualities I look for in a classic Irish watering hole: atmosphere, a feeling that it has been there since the dawn of time, a few colorful "locals," and friendly waiters who seem genuinely glad you are visiting.

"Bar food," as it is called in Ireland, can be off-putting to Americans who are not used to the excellent quality and diversity of food offered by many, many pubs, at a cost much less than one would pay at a fancy restaurant. The Olde Glenbeigh is a perfect example, with an excellent menu and some of the best chips I've had in Ireland, which considering the number I've consumed, is saying something. Be sure to check out the daily specials, too, which we tried on a couple of occasions and were excellent.

The Old Glenbeigh is a terrific spot for a pint, a bite, and a cozy environment, especially on a blustery, rainy, chilly Irish evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed at the glenbeigh hotel last weekend for a friends sons christian ,she had the christening afters in the glenbeigh hotel ,the food and the service was excellant ,the staff were fantastic and also the accommadation was fantastic .will definitly be staying in the glenbeigh hotel again and will tell all my friends about this great place

Room Tip: me and my boyfriend stayed in room 1 the room was so nice and the view was nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Last Friday, June 9th, my wife, daughter and I stopped at the Olde Glenbeigh Hotel at 5;45 approx. We sat down for our meal at 6 o clock. Both my wife and I ordered Sirloin Steak, what came out was 2 steak sandwiches, which we both eat, afterwards when we commentated to a man in a shirt and tie, a manager I assume, the answer we got back was that this was unfortunatate and that these things happen. When leaving the " manager " said it was the kitchens fault yet it was the "manager " who brought out our dinners to us which to me means he didn't check to see if the order docket and the bar docket matched. We didn't get as much as a basic apology from the " manager ". As a result we shall not be returning to this hotel nor will we recommend this hotel to any family member, family friend or anybody else who asks on our future trips to Glenbeigh where we have a holiday home which we use frequently thoroughouy the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Owner at Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
dear kerryman65

i am sorry for your recent experience here with at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel. However I have a few issues with your review. You did in fact order sirloin steaks but received steak sandwiches. I noticed this when i brought your side orders. I immediately offered to change them but you both said they looked great and you were happy to keep them ... like you said you ate them!

when you came to pay i apologised again for the mistake and you in fact left a tip. As you can see from previous reviews and our recent " certificate of excellent " award , we provide a high standard of food and service but sometimes mistakes do happen. If you had expressed your disappointment at the time I'm sure we could have rectified the problem.

kind regards

Kilian Keary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Glenbeigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Glenbeigh Hotel

Address: Glenbeigh Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Glenbeigh
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel situated in the village of Glenbeigh on the beautiful Ring of Kerry. the ideal location for walkers and fishermen with the famous Kerry Way on the doorstep. A warm welcome awaits you at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.