We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising storefront sophistication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumours Bistro

Rumours Bistro
The Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland
+353 66 976 8741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Glenbeigh
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Delicious Food and wonderful ambience at great value prices Rumours Bistro is situated in the Beautiful Coastal village of Glenbeigh, considered by many as The Jewel in The Ring of Kerry. Rumours Bistro is the perfect venue for a romantic dinner or a friendly get together. We go to great lengths to produce great food at an affordable price. Our passion for delicious, simple flavours places an emphasis on the quality of locally-sourced ingredients. We are committed to providing an enjoyable and pleasant dining experience every time. Rumours has a trendy yet friendly vibe, it is a must with visitors and locals alike.
FLAT ROCK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“surprising storefront sophistication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very contemporary atmosphere inside which the outside facade does not convey. Our food was delicious and the chef and her partner are very involved in the dining room, making sure things go smoothly. Nice variety on the menu with locally sourced seafood and meats.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

more sophisticated menu than most in Ireland. well prepared food, comfortable, good service. I enjoyed it

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A wonderful find whilst touring the ring of Kerry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Passed through here whilst driving the ring of Kerry and stopped for coffee and cake, what a find!! A lovely place with amazing cakes!! The place is open evenings as a bistro, would love to have been able to eat there, food looked amazing and decor lovely too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“family trip to ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Was staying in glenbeigh for son in laws 30th birthday. Went to rumours for a family meal.
Jackie was very accommodating and fitted us in. Food was superb and so was the service. Told her it was also our wedding anniversary and she came to the table with bottle of champagne a very nice touch. Good value for money for a high quality meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived for a week's stay in Glenbeigh at about 9.30 one Saturday in February looking for a fish and chip shop or takeaway. Being February and out of season, there was nowhere open. We spotted people inside Rumours and went in. We were informed that they had stopped serving but said Jackie said she would serve us. As it was so late we only expected a quick simple meal with no choice but were given the full menu and told to order whatever we wanted. We ordered 2 steaks and 3 lamb. When they arrived all the meals were a delight to look at, beautifully cooked and served by two friendly waitresses for whom nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the meal and evening so much we booked for another 2 evenings - making it 3 meals in one week! Again everything was superbly cooked and served with a smile, banter and a chat.
If we go to Glenbeigh again we would definitely visit Rumours.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumours Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rumours Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumours Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.