We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great hospitality, food and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Towers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Towers Hotel to your Saves list
Towers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Village Centre, Glenbeigh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely hotel - great hospitality, food and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Towers Hotel in Glenbeigh. The staff was very friendly and helpful, providing information on the local area and any requirements we had were looked after with no delay. The breakfast was good and service also. We enjoyed our trip a lot. We will certainly be back. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear AnnaVismann,
Thank you very much for taking the time out to review our property . We really appreciate comments (both positive and negative). We hope we get to welcome you back to the Towers again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    11
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed in the towers for 3 nights bed and breakfast while we were visiting family and friends in Kerry. Plenty of things to do in the area, with walks and activities plus Rossbeigh beach only 5 min drive away another must see! Can't fault this hotel at all, staff were so friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and spotlessly clean. Bar and restaurant equally as good with full menu and great daily specials. Would recommend for families and couples alike. I know we will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Scania730,
Thank you very much for taking the time out to review the Towers. We are delighted you got to see all that the Towers and Glenbeigh has to offer and we would only be delighted to welcome you back to the Towers again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just back from an originally planned 3 night break with hubby and 2 kids. So enjoyable we stayed on 1 extra night. Hotel is very quaint, clean and staff extremely friendly. Price for family room very reasonable. Bar food overpriced but family meals out in Ireland are very expensive. Wifi could certainly be improved but this not the fault of hotel.
Beautiful part of Ireland and we will return to hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope that you call to see us again soon...All the best from the staff at the Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed in Towers Hotel, Glenbeigh, with family members. For the money we paid, the quality and service was very disappointing. This hotel is located in a beautiful spot in Kerry, and right on the Ring of Kerry route. It should be the star of the town - but unfortunately it feels more than a little unloved.

Our room smelled musty and damp, and it definitely was so, evidenced by my asthma becoming quite pronounced over our days there. There were wet marks on the VERY worn chair in the bedroom. The room was definitely damp.
Also, I saw a lot of storage heaters: not great for heating a place when the weather is cold. The heat is gone out of them by late afternoon, and there's not heat again until morning.

You get a nice hot, strong shower in the morning - but not a chance of one in the afternoon or any time later in the day. This isn't very satisfactory, particularly if you've just spent some time on the nearby beach. The water pressure is very bad in the afternoons and it barely gets above tepid.

Breakfast is also disappointing. Interestingly, on the bar menu is an item called 'full Irish breakfast'. So if you're passing through,you can order this. But if you're staying as a guest in the hotel, believe it or not, the full Irish isn't on the breakfast menu. Yes - you can get the sausages, bacon, fried egg and grilled tomato; but NOT the black and white pudding which is available as part of the 'full' Irish breakfast to those NOT staying in the hotel.
By the way, if you're having the poached egg, better to order it as plated without the toast. It is so full of water, the toast becomes quite soggy. We could pour the water off the plate.

Our double bed was made up from two singles put together: quite a common practice in hotels. Pity though the two beds that were put together weren't of the same height! Some of our party was in a twin room and had nice bed throws over the bed coverings. But it seems when you have a double bed, you don't get that. Just a plain white duvet and nothing else. Pity! The rooms are so bland that little bit of colour from the bed throw would have made a lot of difference.

We chose not to eat our main meals in the hotel - quite honestly because the food looked stodgy. We did have an afternoon snack there and were very disappointed in the service.

Overall this hotel feels outdated and lacking in attention to detail. It also doesn't feel or seem as clean as one might expect. We certainly feel we didn't get value for money.
Finally - there is no excuse for the small 1980's style portable TVs in the bedrooms. One guest stay per room (or less at the prices charged) would pay for a decent modern flat screen TV.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear MaryJoEllen,
Thank you for the review posted on our hotel. I appreciate your opinion and would like to highlight some of the issues that you have raised.
The room being cold - As you are aware when you stayed with us in July we experienced one of the hottest summers in a long time. If anything I would have thought the room could have been too hot but I do understand that some people can be of a cold nature and if you had requested extra blankets we would have been more than happy to provide them all you need do was ask. This also brings me onto my second point:
The Storage Heaters - We have not operated storage heaters in the Towers in over 20 years. It is a central heating system operated and if you needed extra heating turned on we can do this instantly and even on a room by room basis....again all you need do was ask.- Photos of our heaters can be provided if necessary.
Hot Water - As you can see from all of our reviews we have never has a hot water problem in our hotel. Our water system is of the highest standard and very rarely if ever causes us problems.
Breakfast - I am baffled as to why you think you couldn't get a Full Irish Breakfast in the hotel. We are one of the very few hotels in Ireland that are not serving a buffet style breakfast but a freshly made to order breakfast which includes bacon,egg,sausage, tomato, and also puddings (black and white). While we offer a full Irish in addition to this we also have pancakes, Fresh fish of the day, Omelettes of your choice, French Toast and maple syrup to name but a few, and if needed a copy of the menu can be posted.
The last item I would like to clarify is the beds. We recently refurbished many rooms and some of the beds replaced were zip and link beds. The room you stayed in did in fact have a brand new zip and link bed which made it impossible for the beds to be of a different height.
I hope I have covered everything and if you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creggan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As Chairman of our club i would just like to thank the Hotel for our 4 night stay. Anything you asked for you got it and always with a smile should it be going down for your breakfast and having a bit of craic with the cleaning ladies who were always smiling or LATE on when the bar staff were looking after you. First class food, first class drink,clean and a happy atmosphere. The most important bit for myself was the way you made all our young player's, their families and the rest of our party feel so much at ease and at home in your surroundings.

Tony mc Collum

Room Tip: Anywhere in the hotel just go and enjoy yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Towers. Your group were fantastic and we would only love to have them back again in the future.
Wishing you all the best for next years competition.
Kind regards,

Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our Group from Kickhams Creggan GAC Co. Antrim stayed last weekend while taking part in the John Egan U14 Tournament .From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well by the friendly, accommodating staff of the Towers. We ate in both the Bar and the Restaurant and all agreed the food was excellent and great value for money. We had fabulous weather and the children enjoyed the garden and the nearby Rossbeigh strand. Staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them!! We had such a good time at the Towers no-one wanted to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is large and airy!! Garden rooms are great if travelling with children as they can play outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear LouiseRandlestown,
Thank you very much for your review and I have to say the pleasure was all ours in looking after your group!
We are delighted that all the kids and parents enjoyed their stay and the atmosphere around the hotel was brilliant for the whole week. I am thrilled that everyone enjoyed both the dining-room and the bar food as it does give people plenty of options on what they would like to eat. I hope that we get to see some of the faces again as they really were a fantastic group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel Last weekend from friday to Monday and I loved the old country house feel of the hotel.staff were friendly food was good especially good breakfast bed was comfortable telly could do with an update and we did get locked out for a while on our first night but I enjoyed our break and I would come again.we also had a meal in the old

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear joandrea,
Thank you for your review on the Towers and we appreciate all your feedback.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast as we do offer a wide variety on our menu from Full Irish breakfast and french toast to the lighter bites of fresh meats and cheeses, to name but a few.
In regards the television in your room, you are right that it is a bit dated and we are currently awaiting new televisions to be delivered.
I hope we get to welcome you again to our hotel so that you can see the improvements being made here at the Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers Hotel

Address: The Village Centre, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an old world victorian style family run hotel, situated in the heart of picturesque Glenbeigh Village on the famous Ring of Kerry.We are famous for our fresh food with fine dining in The Curra restaurant as well as more relaxed dining in The Loft restaurant and our Olde Bar.We are delighted to announce that we are now fully certified certified for private and civil weddings in our very own unique chapel 'The Little Belfry', call or email us for details on our wedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kerry Glenbeigh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.