We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B to come back to, again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dromin Farmhouse

Save Saved
You added Dromin Farmhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dromin Farmhouse
Miltown, off N70, Killorglin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A B&B to come back to, again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I first stayed with Mary in 2005 and just had to return again with my wife in 2012. The view across to the mountain range is magnificent and this is an excellent jump-off point for a drive around the Dingle Peninsula. Hidden away from the main roads, but well sign posted, this is real Kerry countryside and farm life. Mary has the best bedlinen of all the B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland. Do you self a favour - stay more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms along verandah have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wals, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although the B&B is a bit hidden a lot of signs will show you the way to Mary. She is a very nice and warming Lady. You feel welcome on the very first Minute you put your foot over the treshold and enjoy every Moment you spent in that B&B. If you have any question or don't know where to go - Mary is doing her best to give you the best advise. It was our 3rd time in that B&B and it felt like visiting friends. You couldn't find any better B&B in Kerry!

Room Tip: Every room is nice, quiet and clean! You can take every room you'd like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Dromin farmhouse is located in an excellent area to see many of Ireland's must see sights . We could not say enough about how warm and pleasant Mary was . She made sure we were comfortable and she made us feel at home This is a working farm and we were able to see the cows during milking and the kids really enjoyed that

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very warm welcome from Mary, she made the stay a real delight. Our room and bath was large and spacious. She has a wonderful guest lounge where you can sit down, relax or just enjoy the view from the large picture window. Mary offered a wonderful breakfast to start your day off right. A peaceful retreat in the country and a great location to do the Ring of Kerry. You will need a place to unwind after driving the Ring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

For us this really did tick all the boxes. Delightful bedroom, lounge and dining room, excellent breakfasts and a very warm welcome from Mary combined to make this a special place to stay. On top of this the location, with so much to see and do, plus most beautiful views from the front windows made us sad to have to leave. Everything needed for our enjoyment was there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just finished our stay at the Dromin Farmhouse and could not have been more pleased with our visit.

Highlights:

- The owner, Mary, is incredible and will do everything to make you feel comfortable and at home. She also is great at remembering your preferences from one day to the next.

- Great jumping off point for Ring of Kerry and exploring Killarney

- Free wi fi

- Beautiful Rooms with lovely view outside the B&B

No cons, amazing stay! Just make sure you look out for signs on the road to find the place, as that was a little challenging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The warm welcome we received from Mary Foley, the Proprietress, was much appreciated after our long drive from Rosslare. Tea and scones on arrival served in the lounge which had a large screen TV and a wood burning stove, and then we were shown our room. The picture window looked out towards Carrantuohill , highest mountain in Ireland. Every day was to prove a changing spectacle of mountains, cloud, mist and sunshine. As a photographer this was delightful for me. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed, en-suite and also WiFi. Facilities met all our requirements. Plenty of variety for breakfast with Full Irish Breakfast and lots of choices of cereals etc.. Mary was attentive to all our individual requirements. We stayed for six nights. The B&B is ideally situated for easy access to many of Kerry's natural attractions. The Rings of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas are reached within minutes. Kerry offers spectacular wild scenery, some of the best in Ireland. Killarney with its Lakes, Kenmare with its colourful streets, Dingle with its Dolphin, Tralee a busy shopping town. County Cork is also handy and we went to Garinish Island for its gardens. We saw seals and Eagles. Roads are good and directions well signposted. We left feeling we were leaving a friend, Mary, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The front room has views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dromin Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromin Farmhouse

Address: Miltown, off N70, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Dromin Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dromin Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.