We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Tinnahalla, Killorglin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just got back from Ireland- spent 10 great days touring this beautiful country- the highlight as far as our accomaditions had to be the three nights we spent at Fern Rock with our lovely host Irma. We ended using this as our base of operation for touring both the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Preninsula. Irma not only was our host but also served as our tour guide helping us set up our daily itinerary- this was real blessing since we were complete novices and it helped so much to have her input. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was great, We are already thinking about going back next year and making sure that staying at Fern Rock is part of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just back from another visit to Puck Fair. We've been going every year and never look past Fern Rock. Irma was once again as helpful and pleasant as ever. She's always great for booking restaurants and giving local tips etc. Looking forward to next year already!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrtalje, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good situated, close to many of the sights we wanted to see. Very nice and helpful hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of doing a "go as you please" Irish holiday. This involved a good many "B & B's." We didn't realize how different traveling directions could be in Ireland, as opposed to the USA & Great Britain. Who would have thought postmen would just know a person's house by their name, or something as benign as "up Hill Rd." Our GPS was useless for anything but getting to a county or town. We "lucked in" to Fern Rock and the rest of our trip was a pleasure. Clean, spacious rooms, tea at our convenience, bountiful, tasty breakfasts, a lounge where you actually felt welcome ... I could go on & on! Beautiful scenery, sweet sheep out the back, bunnies in the garden, lovely landscaping ... we even got the treat of a farmer in the back, doing some training of his dogs, for herding the sheep! It was close enough to walk to one of the most beautful golf courses, over looking Dingle Bay for supper and our hostess had called ahead, so we were treated like royalty! Irma went to the trouble of booking a tour for us for the Ring Of Kerry and the B & B is ideally situated for that tour. She helped us with driving directions and even printed out maps for us! My husband is still jealous of the picture she has in the lounge of herself with Fred Couples! ;-) (Yes, she is a golfer and can help you find the best places to go in that regard.) She was available for our every need, but never intrusive! You are missing one of the best, if you don't try Fern Rock! Many thanks Irma and John ... and may all your 19th holes be filled with wonderful tales of success! Slainte'!! ♥

Room Tip: The back rooms have wonderful pastoral views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

To my surprise, on leaving Killorglin after 3 nights stay, I realised what I’d miss the most afterwards was the hospitality provided by Irma and John at Fern Rock! From the moment myself and my wife arrived we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They have the service balance of always being there to help but never in the way perfected down to a tee. Bedroom spacious and spotless, breakfast was great and the daily home cooking by Irma was the icing on the cake! Killorglin is a great place with always fun things going on, but in hindsight we would not have got as much out of it in the days we were there if we hadn’t stayed at Fern Rock. I cannot recommend them enough and have already decided to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My 9 and 10 year old daughters had their first ever B&B experience at Fern Rock!
They told me to give Ms Irma 5 stars and I have to agree. Fern Rock is ideally located to start the Ring of Kerry and a short 20 mins drive from Killarney for anyone wishing to stay away from the hustle and bustle. Nice clean rooms with private bathroom and a hearty breakfast for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Unable to remove comment - no pool/fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had an enjoyable 8 days at Fern Rock. We were made to feel really welcome and were given trip advice that was perfect for our stay. We did the Skellig Ring, traveled many side roads, and played at the area golf courses. Everything was great! Great Country Setting with sheep in the pasture behind and the birds fun to watch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tinnahalla, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.