We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and old” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killorglin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside House
Save
You added Riverside House to your Saves list
Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and old”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked my family into this B&B for the Annual Killorglin Puck fair.

The place is in need of some refurbishment and is tired. The breakfast were ok but very small portions, even for young children. These days it's surely a minimum requirement to have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

Unfortunately it was to be just about the worst time to stay at this establishment. The owners clearly hate the annual festival and were not shy in letting us know it. Never stayed in Killorglin before and if this is the best it has to offer i wouldn't bother again.

On the plus side it is very handy for the town and the views are lovely.
Quick tip: Ask for extra keys if you're in a group.
Great if you're on a diet but dont stay during the puck fair!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
22
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our stay at Riverside House was nothing short of magical. The house is beautiful, with the most wonderful view out of the dining room. Breakfast was excellent, and our room was perfectly cozy. The magic of our trip involved meeting Irish family and tracing roots, so I am biased. But Geraldine and Francis are warm and friendly and you can feel the love that they put into their home. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ideally located for the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula and Killarney. We had the family suite which was fine, if perhaps on the small side for 4 beds. The power shower in the bedroom was not great, but there was a good one down the passage. The breakfast room and the sunroom upstairs have great views over the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed at a many nice 5 stars hotels in Ireland, but we enjoyed at this BnB much more then all the expensive treats.

The atmosphere is very relaxing and inviting, the room and the dinner room with a large windows directly on the river.
the breakfast was excellent made with home made bread and home made marmalade and it is obvious that the lady of the house enjoys and love her work.

we recommend this place with all and if we will ever be back to Ireland, we will detour to visit once more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoyerswerda, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Superb little BnB. Killorglin is a good location, not too small not too big. The House is clean and tidy and has a fantastic view. The Landlady and Landlord were always very friendly and super helpful, giving loads of insider advice and tips and tricks. Def. recommending this BnB.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Nice views of the river and old train bridge. Rooms are nice and clean (cofmortable beds!) Kitchenette with tea and coffee available 24h. Wifi available. The staff and owner are super nice and they couldn't do enough for us

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was the worst Bed and Breakfast we stayed in. Recommended by the tourist centre!!! It was tired and in need of refurbishment. Views were amazing shame the welcome and service didn't match. No coffee making facilities in the room so you have to make it yourself and go up stairs with your coffee. The only place a coffee was not offered and made for us on arrival. Many had their own baking. It felt more like a boarding house and not homely. It did not feel fresh but musty. Towels old and paper thin. Many more to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor as steps a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Address: Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.