We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killorglin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside House
Save
You added Riverside House to your Saves list
Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

A fabulous location withh amazing views. Easy to walk into town to eat. The room was clean and adequate for our needs. Bathroom was fine. The host/owner was lovely and so helpful with suggestions for the rest iof our journey. A lovely sun room to sit and read or just look at the scenery. Self serve area for a cuppa, tv room. Breakfast was lovely with the best window view we have ever seen. I disagree with Mindy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
22
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was a delightful surprise on our trip. The setting is beautiful, the accommodations clean and tasteful and attractive, and the host/hostess absolutely charming and helpful.
We disagree with Mindy in every way. We had a wonderful walk on the river trail behind the house, accompanied by delightful dog Toby. We enjoyed the view from every window, door, and spot in the house; and we found Geraldine and her husband to be warm and outgoing and helpful. What the heck, Mindy--what were you looking at?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The one and only redeeming quality of this B&B is the view - it is spectacular. Otherwise, the room and bathroom were freezing cold (in August, yet!), it is in need of a desperate renovation, just awful, not clean, and absolutely no water pressure in the shower. The towels were like thin cardboard, or the oldest hardest rag you can imagine. The sheets and covers on the beds were fine, new and clean, but they looked out of place against the rest of the decor.

We stayed in about 10 B&Bs around England and Ireland on this trip and there is no way that I would return to this one. If they renovate, it could be amazing, what a fabulous location and garden...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I found this place on goireland.com and it turned out to be even better than my highest hopes. The warmth of the welcome from Geraldine and Francis was wonderful and the advice on local amenities was really helpful.

We planned to climb Carrauntohill and received really useful local advice from Francis on the best route. He lent us a map with the route marked out and also advised on low level walking on a day when the cloud was low.

Killorglin is in ideal place to stay. It is a real Kerry town with charm, unlike Killarney which is too big and touristy for my liking. It has east access to many attractions and has all the faciliities tousists could want - good bars, cafes, restaurants, shops and supermarkets.

Riverside House is ideally located with delightful views over sloping gardens down to the River Laune. It is very quiet but still within a couple of minutes walk of Killorglin centre.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast offered a great range of options and generous helpings.

Definitely worth another visit. Great value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My mum and I stumbled upon this little pot of gold while road tripping around Ireland and can say, without question, that it was one of the warmest, friendliest B&B's we had the pleasure of staying at.

The room was well kept, clean and had a beautiful view overlooking the river. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of food that catered for a variety of appetites. And the service was first class with owner, Francis, providing a wealth of information about the Kerry region and the West coast in general.

All in all, a brilliant B&B for those looking for a good chat, a good feed, and a good dose of Irish charm.

Thank you Riverside House!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have been staying in Riverside since 2007 – we keep on coming back each time we are in Kerry, no matter if travelling to Iveragh, Dingle or Beara. As active tourists and mountain climbers, we have stayed in several B&Bs – in Ireland, Poland, Czech Republic and Slovakia - but this one is our favourite and simply the best of the best.

It is very well located – close enough to the main road in Killorglin so that you can find it the first time you are there, explore the town or start your journey early next day, but not too close so that you can enjoy a peaceful sleep without any traffic noise at all.

Our room is always clean and cosy. Each time we have been given fresh towels. The bathroom has always been spotless and warm as well.

As for the amenities, we found it very good to have a small kitchenette, free access to a computer (with internet), guest lounge, dining hall with superb panoramic window, reading area, huge garden and terrace with wonderful views over the river Laune – all this for their guests’ use. It was our first B&B where we have more than our bedroom/bathroom/dining room at our disposal.

We have been always spoilt for choice when it comes to breakfast. Food is delicious, home-made and prepared on time. We can recommend pancakes and full Irish breakfast – our favourites! Breakfast is served in a spacious dining room, with the aforementioned panoramic window – you can admire views of the river, gardens and the MacGillycuddy's Reeks during eating.

The proprietor, Geraldine, and her husband, Francis, are the most hospitable B&B owners we have ever met. They are genuinely interested in their guests (but not nosy!) and do their best to accommodate their needs. We found it very helpful to discuss with them our travels and hikes in the area. Their knowledge and, most of all, their passion for Kerry are impressive. For example, it was worth consulting them before our trek/climb to Carrauntoohil, as they advised us the best route - breathtaking views, challenging (in the positive meaning) and safe. They also recommended us the best way of getting to Skellig Michael.

Everything has always been CLEAN – we found it hard to believe what some reviewers said about this place. We’ve been staying there at various times of the year and never have we found it unkempt, cold or stinky. It is not a newly-built house so you can't expect a fresh paint and new wooden floors smell there. However, there is no bad smell whatsoever – and we have quite sensitive noses. Beds are comfortable and big enough. Killorglin is a rather small town so there is no busy highway there – therefore we were surprised to see somebody here complaining about noisy traffic. The main road N72/N70 is several hundred meters away. Furthermore, guest bedrooms face the garden or the back yard so this acts as an additional shelter from ANY noise.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This B&B was great! Geraldine was always helpful and even arranged a taxi for us on the first night. To the grumpy person who said it is next to a highway?!! Have you ever been to Killorglin? It has no busy roads! :D
Also there is a communial kitchenette for tea and coffee and for keeping your drinks cold. The view of the river Laune was great and I would recommend this to anyone passing through Killorglin. Also the location makes for a easy night out to the many pubs that are located near by.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Address: Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.