We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location in Kerry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orglan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killorglin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orglan House
Save
You added Orglan House to your Saves list
Killarney Road, Killorglin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
1 review
“Wonderful location in Kerry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It was my First Trip to ireland, and orglan house was the perfect Base for our excursions to the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula and Kilarney National Park.we spent 5 days here and felt truly at home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After careful review of all the options in the Killarney area and comparing prices, we settled on the Orlgan house mainly due to location and price. Even though we arrived quite a bit later than planned, Bridie the proprieter greeted us by name at the door and welcomed us warmly with tea, coffee, and cake all made just for us and served in the living room by a turf fire in the stove! Throughout our two-day stay, we were very comfortable in our well appointed rooms and Bridie was the perfect hostess taking time to answer any questions we had about the Ring of Kerry and Ireland in general. The breakfasts were amazing and the view spectacular! I would strongly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We've travelled to the area a few times, Orglan House has been the best B&B we've found by a long way.

We stayed for 7 nights and Bridie our host gave us a fabulous welcome. She could not have been more helpful throughout the week but achieved this without ever being intrusive. By the end of the week we felt she was more a friend than a host.

The breakfasts were very good, the selection great and the portions ample. Special options were no problem for my partner who is vegetarian and often gets the short straw.

The room was clean and a good size, the bathroom was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.

We'll be visiting the area again and will definitely be staying here again. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending staying here, it really is a home from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

When booking a stay in SW Ireland I had chosen a series of hotels, and not carefully checked out the prices. Once I got back off my chair my wife suggested we should "settle" for staying at B&B's and save our Euros for the travelling/horse riding/eating/drinking/dolphin watching etc.

Bridie and John's home was the first we stayed at and could not be bettered on our trip. A very welcoming tea & biscuits greeting our late arrival, even when I had almost backed my car off their steep hillside. We had the "family room" - a two room mini-suite with a small linking corridor and shower. Simple, clean accomodation, great breakfasts, warm welcome. There is a reason why all the reviews to date are excellent - because the service is; and I wouldn't be swapping any hotel for this choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is an efficiently run and comfortable B & B. We received a very warm welcome, and had a fair size room with an adequately equipped ensuite. The breakfast was generous and there were facilities for making tea and coffee, at any time, in the guest lounge. The house is within easy walking distance of the (fairly nondescript) town and, if you want to eat quite cheaply, the Chinese Dream restaurant is good value with excellent service. If you’re touring the Ring of Kerry, Orglan House makes a good stopover.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Orglan House, and found it was easy to feel at home! I had never stayed at a B&B before and didn't know what to expect. Bridie was incredibly welcoming and helpful (while still giving us our space) as we planned our stay. Killorglin is naturally beautiful, and if you are happy to stay a little bit away from the main hub of Killarney it is great. We used public transportation which added some time onto our day trips but was still possible. It's a great location to get to the Ring of Kerry, Gap of Dunloe and Dingle Peninsula. And we loved listening to the piano player (Jack) at Nick's restaurant in town. The house (and the view!) was beautiful, bedroom comfortable, and breakfast delicious!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Orglan House is right across the Luane River from the main part of town, up on a hill. The view of the town and the surrounding mountains was spectacular. We stayed in a corner bedroom so we could see the view every morning before we headed off to the sights and see Killorglin lit up after we walked back from the pub. It was a quick walk into town.

Bridie, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. We stayed three nights, but had a pretty loose idea of which things we wanted to see on which day. Bridie helped with her local knowledge to figure out which days would be busiest. We did the Ring of Kerry, including Valentia Island, and all the sights around Killarney. It would have been easy to do Dingle from here to, but we never made it up there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orglan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orglan House

Address: Killarney Road, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orglan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.