We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuinely warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River Island Hotel to your Saves list
River Island Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Main Street, Castleisland, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleisland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A genuinely warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there last night and was hugely impressed by the very warm welcome extended to us by all of the staff. Genuinely friendly and exceptionally helpful people. Spotlessly clean rooms, a very good breakfast and all for a very reasonable price. What's not to like?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goatstowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had breakfast this morning Sunday good breakfast. Unfortunately my dread the microwave. Can't be helped. This is the age we live in. Very good plenty of everything well cooked. Bantam eggs rare. Lots of tea! Had a visit from a few bluebottles. I eat faster than them. (Believe they are in season.). Staff good. Wondered if the wan from Scart was forewoman. The only critical. Bit the Blasted TV Blasting football on a Sunday morning. Some great stuff on Kerry radio. Wi go there again. Great place to grub up before hitting the Tourist traps. Free parking all over town. Town traditional not Trap

Room Tip: Did not stay there. Looked up room rates not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for four nights two weeks ago at this hotel. Was on a coach party, food was lovely and Tom the manager couldn't do enough for us. His Irish dancing was brilliant and he was good at getting people on the dance floor. The room was overlooking the back and heard some dogs barking but didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didcotsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Tom the manager could not have made us more welcome, being one of a party of 43 we created quite an influx of work all at the same time but we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and clean and the food was excellent. The staff worked really hard and were always on the run, but with smiles on their faces. Would be happy to recommend this hotel to any one who is exploring the Dingle or the Ring of Kerry

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in this hotel with a coach party. From outside the hotel does not look impressive, but once you enter everything changes with plush carpets and polished woodwork. I had a large bedroom at the front, which was well appointed and very clean. We had evening meals and breakfast and could not fault the food, in fact there was often too much for me. The staff were very pleasant and extremely efficient. On the nights I visited the bar there was good entertainment. I would certainly use this hotel again. As I never give 5 stars this hotel gets my top rating.

Room Tip: Although my room was at the front and overlooked the main street. I heard very little noise except o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were on a tour of Ireland with a group (42 people). We spent 2 nights in this hotel. At first we were disappointed, because we had large and spacious 4* hotels before this one, and this one looked small and old, in a small old town (village ?). A few stairs to climb with your heavy luggage before finding a single lift (not very handy when several groups arrive at the same time). Our room was not extremely spacious, but let's stay the size was OK. The room was clean, comfortable, bright, bathroom OK. The view was poor : the back of some pubs, with people smoking all night - but we didn't hear any noise thanks to the windows (dubbel glazing). Other members of the group had a room on the front side, it was worse (traffic). A lot of pubs in the surroundings, music here and there.
The food was fine, the service was too slow though : the "usual customers" complained because the groups were requiring too much time and attention from the staff. They could have done with extra staff, especially on a week-end.
So, if you want to enjoy this place, try to avoid groups. All in all it's a rather charming old-fashioned place downstairs, and quite modern upstairs in the rooms. Food is fine!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get the sun and are rather quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danzigBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Had an overnight here and was very impressed with the value. Rooms very clean and good breakfast. Bed was a bit too soft. We had a drink at the bar fairly late and there were a lot of small children still running round.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cilldara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleisland
10.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
12.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.0 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#3 of 3 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#33 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Island Hotel

Address: Lower Main Street, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — River Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your River Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Island Castleisland
River Island Hotel Ireland/Castleisland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing