We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Heights Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Heights Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Island Heights Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Killarney Road, Castleisland, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Castleisland B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Island Heights is a 'home' away from 'home. The friendliest welcome you could wish for.

May-Anne Breen and her family make your feel so welcome and part of their family. They are extraordinary.

The breakfast is quite literally the best we have ever tasted. It keeps you going all day long. The freshly baked scones and numerous cakes are like something from a French patisserie.

The rooms are beautifully clean and the bathrooms spotless. What more could anyone ask for?

Great job, Mary-Anne, amazing high standard and thank you for making our stay such an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing experience. Simply the best bed and breakfast in Kerry, probably Ireland and possibly the world!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have never stayed in such a lovely, homely B&B, Mary Anne is magic so warm and friendly and what a cook. We we’re thoroughly spoilt, we came to trace my husband’s relatives that had passed away and Mary Anne knew them and one that is still alive. We will be going back in the summer and will stay here for sure. Recommend this to everyone to stay and just a short walk from the town. Thanks to Mary Anne for making our stay magnificent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love this B&B and have long intended to write a review. I was a tour guide for many years and stayed with Mary Anne Breen at Island Heights every time I was in Castleisland and also during the great trad music festival there each Oct. Mary Anne is a great cook and makes home made scones and cakes that she offers to every guest. Her hospitality is unbeatable. The house is within walking distance of town, the rooms are clean warm and most comfortable. She has so many repeat guests and business people and prices are great. She is often full so doesn't really need these good reviews but I want to let other travellers know about this gem of a hardworking kind woman.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw/tried were just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here last July 2012 and completely forgot to write my review. This was our first stop on our 2 week trip. Didn't realize we would have the best stay on our first night. Mary Anne was great to all of us from the get go. Very friendly and we felt right at home. The rooms were great. Clean, comfortable, and quiet at night. I would highly recommend staying here if you have the chance. There is no beating this place. Thanks Mary Anne!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here several times when travelling from Kerry airport. Each and every time, we looked forward to Mary- Anne's exceptional hospitality. Her breakfast's were better than any we've had anywhere else, make sure you try a delicious homemade scone!! Thank you Mary- Anne, can't wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Mary Anne is the best hostess you could have if you are lucky enough to be able to go to Ireland regularly after the first visit it will be like coming home. Mary Anne does what she does best in making her home feel like its yours too ,wonderful breakfast and scones to die for and at the end of the day a lovely sitting room where you can make a cuppa and have a piece of homemade cake before you retire.This will always be our choice of b and b and if you are lucky enough to find Mary Annes make sure you go back you will have made the best friend you will prob will ever get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

When we booked,it was because of the reviews we had read. For once we were not disappointed, in fact it was even better than we expected. Mary-Anne's husband gave us a very warm welcome. The room and appointments were great - very clean, fresh.
We went out for dinner and didn't know of the additional comforts that were provided - coffee left in the guest lounge, cakes etc. Breakfast was fantastic - after travelling through Europe it was great to have a breakfast that hadn't been pre-cooked and kept warm for ? how long. Intead it was cooked to order.
Mary-Anne was generous enought to give us a parcel of her "world famous scones" buttered plus jam to take with us.
If we go back to Ireland we would return and we also would have no problems recommending them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Heights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Heights Bed & Breakfast

Address: Killarney Road, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castleisland
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Island Heights Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Castleisland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Heights Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.