We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeaky clean home, wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shannon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shannon Lodge
Save
You added Shannon Lodge to your Saves list
2 Rosan Oir | Ballycasey, Shannon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Shannon B&B and Inns
Wytheville VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Squeaky clean home, wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

For those of you who wish to stay near Shannon Airport, this is the perfect B&B. Not only was this home immaculately kept, the decor was very nice -- and there were public rooms to visit so that we were not relegated to our bedroom. We were warmly greeted by our hosts who told us the attractions in the area (Bunratty Castle and Durty Nelly's Tavern both are a must-see) and provided us refreshments. In addition, each bedroom has a coffee/tea maker and snacks. We had an early flight the next morning, so we asked for a continental breakfast so we could "eat and run" without disturbing our hosts so early; however, they were up early with us providing a great breakfast instead. Of all the B&B's we visited in Ireland, this was by far our favorite due to the facility, hosts - and we were only five minutes from Shannon airport. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Anglels, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The Shannon Lodge is wonderful and inviting. The city of Shannon -- what exists of it -- is not.

Martina the hostess is a pure delight...warm, helpful, enthusiastic, guaranteed to put a smile on your face. She cooks a mean Irish breakfast as well.

We arrived from the north after a sunset visit to the Cliffs of Moher. We were hungry but weren't in the mood for the Chinese joint across the street. Martina recommended a pub in a lodge-style hotel down the street. We stopped there but it wasn't really the scene were looking for (a smattering of business travelers, sports on plasma screens, and a sign when you walk in "No Singing Allowed!"). So we bailed, opting to take our chances in downtown Shannon. NEWS FLASH: Downtown Shannon doesn't exist. We discovered that outside of the airport there's not much to Shannon. We walked into a diner but it was closing even though it was only 8 or 9 at night. Our only option, it pains me to report, was Subway. They were also closing and sold out of bread so we had Subway wraps for dinner. Easily the low point of our Irish holiday.

Martina sympathized with our plight when we told her about it the next morning but in retrospect we should have traveled another 15 minutes and stayed in Limerick for the night to give ourselves more dinner/pub options.

And if I'm being nitpicky I might as well mention the walls seemed a bit thin. We could hear voices in the room next door and some revelers in the street late at night. Wasn't a big deal but bears mentioning nevertheless. And I've noticed a few reviewers reference the pub across the street from the Shannon Lodge. While I suppose it is a "pub" in the sense that you can go there for a pint, it's also effectively in a strip mall so don't be expecting ambiance.

All things considered the Shannon Lodge is a lovely place to spend a night...but only if you absolutely must stay near the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on a driving tour of Ireland. First impresssions were of a clean, quiet, well appointed B and B, and right from when we arrived we felt comfortable, relaxed and taken care of. Martina was friendly with an easy going rapport, and both her and her husband were knowledgeable and helpful about places of interest in the surrounding area and places to visit further on in our trip. We had a fantastic cooked breakfast every morning, the perfect start to a day sightseeing in Ireland :-) We really enjoyed travelling around the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, Doolin, Lahinch ... all along the coast and returning back for a great nights sleep. We also visited the Crannogs, St John Castle, had great fun at Benratty Castle and Folk Park, as well as a few guinness's at Dirty nelly's. We loved County Clare and will fondly remember the time we had while staying at this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My daughter and I had a lovely stay at Martina's, Shannon Lodge. It is a
great B&B in a newer, clean, safe and quiet area. Extremely clean and fresh room with toiletries, tea and cookies provided. Short walk across the street from nice, clean pub. Private parking on grounds.
Martina is a lovely lady. Polite, fun, charming personality, and a great cook.
We were allowed to check in earlier both nights that we stayed there.
This B&B is top quality. Would recommend it to anyone visiting from anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

The first and best of our 7 night stay touring Ireland. We arrived very late at night to be greeted by a sweet charming lady. Nothing was too much trouble for her. The room was clean, comfortable and every little luxury, nothing was missing. Lovely cooked breakfast and again everything you could wish to choose from.
Thank you Martina, your home was definitely the best of our stay and deserves a 10 **** rating!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We spent the last two nights of our trip here. I picked the Shannon Lodge because it was across the street from a hotel/pub and the men could have a drink without worrying about driving home on the left. The house is very pretty, as are the rooms, but they are upstairs. The hostess was friendly and the breakfast delicious. We walked across to the 'Chinese" restaurant - which had a mixed menu, I had Thai and it was good. Then we retired to the pub. The house is just off the highway, good for touring, and less than 10 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The owner was fun, talkative and helpful! The place is super close to the airport which was perfect for us. It was clean and pretty and affordable! I highly recommend for travelers coming in and out of Shannon who need to be by the airport!

  • Liked — Convenient, big rooms, clean
  • Disliked — Nothing it was well kept and professional
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shannon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannon Lodge

Address: 2 Rosan Oir | Ballycasey, Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Shannon
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shannon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.