We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shannon Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shannon Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shannon Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballycasey, Shannon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Shannon
Shannon, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

While the hotel is a bit rundown, for the price it was very much what I was looking for. For about what you would pay for a comfort inn room in the states you can stay in a very central location to Limerick and Ennis. (As a matter of fact this must have been a comfort inn and one time as they still have some comfort inn labeled stuff int he rooms). The rooms were clean but a bit run down and they were a bit stuffy and warm during our stay in the summer months. Ask for a room away from the road to get away from the road noise. Our first night, all was quiet. Our second night we discovered that the walls are very thin, as we got to hear a great discussion all night long from the room beside us. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Stay away from the food at the Chinese. Be sure and go into the pub as it is filled on the weekends by the locals and the pub turned out to be great craic.

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The road, airport noise and the thin walls between the rooms.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    26
    19
    16
See reviews for
25
40
28
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

We had an unplanned stop here due to the airline messing up, and it blowing a force 9 gale, so we weren't too choosy about where we put down for the night. The room had all the charm of a mortuary and felt as cold, but an electric wall heater fixed this pretty quick. Amazingly, once the room heated up, a wasp started to fly about; we're talking about December here! Cleanliness-wise, it was OK. Someone had obviously been smoking recently, but it wasn't too pervasive. The bathroom, which was a good size and had decent fittings, didn't have any heating that I could see so we got in and out ASAP.

We decided not to risk the breakfast in the attached Chinese Rerstaurant, but we had a very enjoyable evening meal, and the pub was OK, if a bit noisy later on. The locals obviously make full use of its facilities.

This place was actually OK. I wouldn't book it out of choice but the staff throughout the whole premises were very friendly and we weren't looking for the Ritz on that particular night.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Just an overnight stay. Great Southern Hotel (across the car park from Shannon Airport terminal building) was full. So was directed (by GSH) to Shannon Court Hotel a few miles away. 9 euros for taxi got me there.

Semi-urban setting but fairly quiet. Room plain but large, though chilly. 2 electric wall heaters sorted that OK. Double bed and single with duvets. Used single, but with hindsight should have used double. Telephone dead. Me poking at its wires resurrected it and my subsequent 3 international calls came to the princely sum of 3 euros only (cheapest hotel international phone calls ever !). Received fax while there and no charge was made. No soap in en suite bathroom, so used own. TV has mix of Irish and British programmes plus SKY and CNN (I think). Never heard the neighbours.

Chinese restaurant within building complex, so evening meal sorted. Surprised to find breakfast also taken in said Chinese restaurant. Food good.

All in all an adequate stop and I probably saved some 30+ euros over the GSH, even taking taxis into account.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed here for one night, and that was too long! We had booked a non smoking room but were allocated a smoking room. If that smell wasnt bad enough the room was overlooking the main road and right above the chinese restaurant downstairs so the room reaked of cooking fat. I went down to reception to ask to change rooms but she said they were fully booked and there was nothing she could do. I noticed later this wasnt true as there were rooms at the back that stood empty all night. There was no apology or offer of a discount, very unhelpful. We had to keep the window shut all night due to the chinese cooking fat smell and even in the morning when I thought we could let some air in it was a cooked breakfast cooking fat smell instead. We left early without taking breakfast. The room itself was clean but shabby, dark and depressing. Would not recommend staying here, or if you do check you have a room overlooking the carpark at the back to avoid the smell.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — smell, room, location
  • Tips/Secrets — dont stay in a room facing the road, the cooking fat smell makes you feel ill.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Old, tired spare rooms with dirty, stained spreads (no duvet). After trying two rooms, the second worse than the first, I gave up. OK only as one-night airport stop over. Nice pub but with inexperienced eastern European bar staff. Served me a Hennessey in a tumbler with ice. Ack! The attached restaurant is Chinese? Internet available in public areas (15 Euro for 24 hours). Have a meal or just coffee at McDonalds down the street and get 60 minutes free internet. Large shopping mall nearby for last-minute presents. There is a huge cafeteria serving breakfast at Shannon Airport, so leave enough time and do that rather than eat at the Chinese on your last (or first) morning in Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

Eleven of us descended upon the hotel at 10:00AM, with reservations, planning to stay less than twenty-four hours. The young woman at the desk (name unknown), could not have been more polite and efficient. She was happy to check us all in early, as rooms were available, she answered all our questions with a smile, and acted in a most kind and professional manner.
The location is only minutes from the airport, although one cannot really walk to anything else. We were only there a short time, and because of the early checkin, we were permitted time to relax and reorganize for the next day's journey. We did hire a van to take most of us out to see the Cliffs of Mohrer, which are quite lovely and something not to be missed. Many of the others spent time in Limerick, walking the streets and eating in town. We chose to return to the hotel for a quick bite and an early night. Unfortunately, the Chinese restaurant was not yet open for dinner, so we ate in the pub. It was adequate food, but not great. Two of our friends did dine at the Chinese place later on and said it was terrific. The continental breakfast was just right for all of us, who had to depart the hotel by 0800.
If you need a clean, functional stay for a night near the airport, with decent food and prices, this is it. Would definitely stay again if in the area just for a night.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

I booked into the Shannon Court as I was taking a flight to USA and I told staff I had a 7.00 am check in. They made sure I was given a very quiet room (the hotel has a busy - err, excellent ! - lounge bar) and pre-booked an early morning taxi and ensured I had a breakfast snack as the dining room doesn't open until 7.00. They certainly understand the needs of passengers using Shannon airport, who presumably make up a big share of their clientele. The airport is a five minute taxi ride from the terminal.

They even enquired about my return date and time (also 7.00 am) and because I live quite a few hours drive from Shannon, they suggested I book a room -at a very generous rate- for a short time on my return to have a few hours sleep before my long drive, and after a very welcome sleep in a cosy warm bed, and a lovely refreshing shower my journey home was a pleasure too.
The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, but by far it's greatest asset is it's staff, who deserve top marks for world famous Irish charm. I will definitely stay at Shannon Court again on ANY future trips out of Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shannon Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannon Court Hotel

Address: Ballycasey, Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shannon Court Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shannon Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shannon Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.